Our office

serves Elkhart, Clive, Johnston, Alleman, Ankeny, Bondurant, Des Moines, Grimes, Mitchellville, Polk City, Runnells, Urbandale, West Des Moines, Berwick, Altoona, Sheldahl
Select a different office

Reviews

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Des Moines, IA have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 


"We started working with Home Instead 9 years ago after my mother lost her husband of 63 years. We continued working with them until the final week of Mom's life. We interviewed several agencies 9 years ago and something just stood out right from the start. I think it was the questions they asked about Mom's interests, life style, wishes. The provider they matched Mom with was a perfect fit. The two of them became fast friends over the years. Home Instead stayed on top of things from the very beginning which was another reason we never changed agencies. The office kept track of what was going on through phone calls to Mom, visits to her house, and the provider's logs. Never once in 9 years did we have a concern or problem. That may sound like an exaggeration but it's not!! When Mom's health deteriorated and we knew we would need more provider help and eventually hospice care, the office got right on the situation. Within a couple of days, we had the additional help we needed and I had met with a hospice representative to find out what steps we would need to take and how to proceed. Most importantly, Mom wasn't just a name in a log book or on a statement. The office staff knew Mom as a person. That was invaluable to both her and me. Home Instead made as much of a difference in my life as it did in my mom's."

Posted by jahdaughter on Sep 18 2017

"HISC cared for my mother from 2014 to 2017. I could not have been more pleased with the care my mother received. The caregivers were truly interested in her and her well-being both physically and emotionally. She has Alzheimer's disease so gradually I started using them more frequently up to the point where they were staying with her 3-4 days a week. The staff was friendly and easy to work with and showed flexibility with scheduling caregivers around my work hours. I used them until July 2017 when I put her in a care facility. I highly recommend this company and I am very grateful for the care they gave my mother."

Posted by Iahiker on Sep 14 2017

"Brenda Fonseca met with my sister and to create a plan of care that would meet both my mom's needs and her quirky personality. She was awesome in helping facilitate this process, gaining my mom's trust, therefore agreeing to Home Instead services! "

Posted by Carol H.626820 on Apr 18 2017

"Generally happy with care from my regular caregiver. I feel I have gotten to know her and she has gotten to know me. "

Posted by Pat H.2 on Feb 26 2016

"My caregiver likes to joke and is nice to have around. "

Posted by Herb7 on Feb 14 2016

"By chance we discovered Home Instead ('HISC') in March 2015 when my stepfather was very fragile following a hospitalization and was no longer independent. To make a long story short, as I live overseas I tried to convince my stepfather to move into assisted living. He became depressed, apathetic and lost his appetite. He confided to the HISC caregivers that he wanted to stay at home. HISC management immediately contacted me to share their concerns about his well-being and morale. A company solely interested in money could have simply kept to the same number of care hours, but instead HISC set up a plan, in agreement with my stepfather and me, to get him eating, exercising and gaining strength and independence. He went from an initial 12hours care to 4hrs/day. HISC management contacted me regularly whenever needed. The caregivers are wonderful people - affectionate, humorous, efficient and wise. When I saw my stepfather 6 months later he was another person. Stronger, more cheerful, gaining back weight, eating. And the house was immaculate. My stepfather passed away suddenly in November 2015 - and I'm so glad I listened to Home Instead so he could stay in his home. I definitely recommend Home Instead of Des Moines. "

Posted by Iowan_in_Italy on Jan 14 2016

"My caregiver comes to my home every week day. She is great! She sees what needs to be done and goes right ahead to complete the task. She prepares lunch for me everyday. She will run the washer, sweeps the floor, cleans windows and etc. "

Posted by Marjorie Buechler on Dec 31 2015

"They are understanding and knowledgeable of what I need. They are respectful. "

Posted by Mike121495350 on Dec 31 2015

"My caregiver likes to joke and is nice to have around. "

Posted by Herb6 on Dec 31 2015

"My caregiver is thorough and she does not waste time. I cannot believe all she does in a short amount of time. "

Posted by Patricia H.1 on Dec 31 2015
Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample