Home Instead is taking precautions to protect your loved one! Learn more about our COVID-19 Response here.

(Change Location)

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

It’s not always easy knowing where to start in the search for a quality home care agency for yourself or a loved one – the sheer number of options can be overwhelming, and finding the right agency is crucial to future happiness and well-being.

Read what other families in the Lancaster, PA area have to say about Home Instead!

HI BRAND OCT20 112A8424 LT
May 5, 2021
From Reba B.
We are fortunate to have Richard as a caregiver. He has been with us since day 1. He is always very pleasant and is eager to please. He prepares or helps to prepare the meals and is meticulous about cleaning up the kitchen afterward, even cleaning both the inside and outside of the microwave. On Tuesdays he gathers the garbage from the house and even places the garbage and recycling on the street for pickup. We are blessed to have Richard as a caregiver. Thank you.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
I am most fortunate to have my present CAREGiver for one and a half years and she is WONDERFUL! I hope and pray she never leaves me.
April 17, 2021
5-star review - By Christine B.
Christine is wonderful!! Never stops moving..helps me with bathing, dressing, laundry and dishes. She ALWAYS asks to do more and we enjoy very pleasant conversation.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
The Home Instead CAREGivers have all been especially good to walk with my husband. He has excellent mobility and can walk outside or on an indoor track for up to one hr at a time. I noted that walking would be a major need. And happily the CAREGivers that have been here were all able to meet this need.
April 16, 2021
5-star review - By Julie S.
Thank you for your assistance, flexibility and compassion! We were so pleased with Missy's service, and with Home Instead's willingness to accommodate our request. It was a pleasure working with you and your organization.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
We are very grateful for the expert service extended to us by the Home Instead Senior Care staff.  We appreciate the respect, patience and sense of priority that we are given.
March 26, 2021
5-star review - By Barry F.
I like the flexibility that Home Instead provides. We often cannot control how physicians will schedule appointments and how life will change but I have found that the Home Instead schedulers and care givers have been reliable and prompt. I am never worried that someone will not show up to take my parent to an appointment or necessary pharmacy pick up. It is good to have peace of mind when it comes to making sure that my parent's needs will be covered.
March 25, 2021
From Julia

To Everyone at Home Instead:

Thank you from the bottom of my heart, for all your help, care and prayers. And to anyone I missed, thank you. Keep up the great work.

- By Anonymous Reviewer
It is difficult to evaluate the CAREGivers as a group. All assigned to us have been very, very good. Several are outstanding. Home Instead has been very flexible in meeting my needs. I have recommended them to others.
March 20, 2021
From Maureen & Steve

To All Staff - Linda, Joanne, Megan:

Grateful for your continued hope for [Client's Name] and helping us through these trials. Your hearts are above all pure and lovely! May you be continually protected and blessed.

March 19, 2021
5-star review - By Sam S.
I would like to single out Sheila and Carolyn for the outstanding care that they have provided to my mother, Sally, over the past year. Each of them has gotten to know and develop their own personal relationships with my mother over this period. They have both made it clear that they appreciate her and that they are genuinely concerned for her wellbeing. For both Sheila and Carolyn, care for my mother is more than just a job. They have also been supportive of my sister and I as we struggle through this difficult period in my mother's life, and provide us with regular and valuable feedback and guidance as we navigate through this difficult period. Their services to my mother are greatly appreciated.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
Thanks for suggesting Bob for my dad. He really enjoys spending time with him. When they go for breakfast, it's like Bob's one of the boys to him. He always enjoys their time together.
March 18, 2021
5-star review - By Barbara A.
Myles has been a terrific addition to our household! He accompanies my husband to medical appointments, but together they also take care of all kinds of errands we need help with. Two of the standard activities are filling the bird feeders and taking the paper recycling to the drop-off center. Myles is great company – smart, cheerful, capable, and ready for anything that needs to get done. We are big fans!
- By Anonymous Reviewer
I wanted to let you know how truly happy and satisfied we are with Lori as my Dad's CARGiver. From the first day, she fit in with our family and took charge of Dad's care. She is efficient, caring and Dad relates well with her. He can be a handful, and we never know whether we will have a good or not so good day. When he is having a bad day, Lori does very well in handling his moods. Mom and I are relieved to have a few hours of freedom every day. Thank you for choosing Lori for us.
February 21, 2021
From Connie K.

Dear Home Instead,

Our family wants to thank you for your wonderful care of our Mom. Although she was resistant to accepting help in the beginning, she grew to really looking forward to your visits and the friendships she made.

January 2, 2021
From Gloria

Dear Linda,

Thank you for being the contact person for Home Instead and coming to describe your program with me. The three nights that someone was here turned out to be very helpful. I would recommend your company to anyone. It was a bit regretful that I did not include week-ends but it turned not to be an issue. The two girls who came to our cottage were very respectful and caring.

Blessings to you as you continue to provide this valuable service.

December 19, 2018
5-star review - By LancasterHoover
We've greatly appreciative for the high responsiveness when my mom encountered a medical emergency and needed reserve care at practically a moment's notice. HomeInstead-Lancaster was there to ably assist. Staff has been reliably prompt, trustworthy in daily in-home care, and trips to medical professionals.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
The CAREGivers that Home Instead has sent have been trustworthy and very kind.   We asked for someone who was willing to read the Bible to our mother, and this seems to also have helped find a CAREGiver ready to affirm Christian values.
December 19, 2018
5-star review - By McElhattan Boy
Daily Help so I can leave the house Always on time or have a call that tells me what is going on very good with nearly 100% however, we have developed favorites and are more at ease when they are scheduled very responsive
- By Anonymous Reviewer
Overall I'm very satisfied with Home Instead staff and CAREGivers. I always had the freedom to contact the administrative staff for concerns or needs which helps to keep our communication open. They try very hard to come to a good resolution when emergencies or changes in schedules come up. This isn't always an easy job for them. Thank you for looking for ways to improve.
My mother chose Home Instead after they did a presentation at her retirement community. They also came to her home to explain their services and fees. She chose them initially only for transportation. After her hip surgery two years ago she needed more care givers and more hours. At that time my brother and I got involved with the management team and found them very responsive to our concerns . I think the success of this particular organization is that they do care that the right person is matched to the client. We have found the care givers to be intelligent, engaging, responsive and thoughtful. I trust them to act responsibly and in a caring way. My mother will celebrate her 100th birthday next week. She still lives independently and likes to cook her own meals. With the care givers from Home Instead of Lancaster, I am sure she will continue to enjoy her independence which she values so much!
- By Anonymous Reviewer
I couldn't be more satisfied with the genuine care given to my mother by her two CAREGivers.
October 24, 2017
5-star review - By Bredfox29
The agency is very good at introducing themselves to their clients before you sign your agreement.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
My mother who died recently had received Home Instead services since July, 2011. She received exceptional care from the caregivers and staff. They added to the quality of her life. I was very pleased.
November 9, 2016
4-star review - By KathyMB
The HomeInstead team is all about caring for the clients. They go out of their way to care for them. If they have concerns that need addressed with the family they do it.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
We are ALL incredibly impressed with the company at every level. It has had a remarkably positive impact on my parents' lives and has given myself and my sibling great comfort to know they are receiving such high quality help.
June 8, 2012
4-star review - By KathyMB
My parents are the ones who decided to choose Home Instead Senior Care. I just did the research for them, and it seems to be a good match for them since they are happy about it. With regards to the care I think they are very nurturing and attentive and that's important. I'm glad to find this provider for them.
- By Anonymous Reviewer
Betty and I are the perfect match, now I have a girlfriend to go places and do things with, Betty is perfect. I wish I hadn't waited so long to allow her to come and help me.
November 23, 2011
5-star review - By SweetSue1
The caregivers took time to talk with my mother and found activities that she could participate in. Their attention was focused on my mother. They didn't just turn on the TV and sit there!!!!! When the scheduled caregiver was ill, I appreciated the fact that they found a replacement quickly and made sure I was happy with their choice. The thing I appreciated at the very beginning was that I was able to interview the caregiver a day or two before she came to stay with my mother. That way I was more comfortable leaving my mother with a stranger.

The Benefits of Home Care

Read more about how home care services can help enhance a person’s enjoyment of life.
Home Instead Caregiver stands smiling in front of senior woman in bed