West Suffolk County, NY (Change Location)

Latest Reviews & Testimonials

It’s not always easy knowing where to start in the search for a quality home care agency for yourself or a loved one – the sheer number of options can be overwhelming, and finding the right agency is crucial to future happiness and well-being.

Read what other families in Huntington Station, NY have to say about Home Instead!

HI BRAND OCT20 112A8424 LT
June 7, 2024
5-star review - By Kathy and Linda

We’re very happy with all of the aids with Home Instead. Especially Debbie, she's efficient, compassionate and understanding and in complete control of a difficult situation. We are very happy with her service!

March 31, 2024
5-star review - Christine L.

We’ve had a great experience with Home Instead. They worked with us to get the proper care for my grandmother and have been caring, flexible, and reliable. Our caretaker, Susan, has been a gift to our family. She is kind, caring, responsible, reliable and most importantly makes my grandmother feel safe and well cared for. She’s a wonderful companion and grandma loves playing Scrabble with her and enjoys her fantastic cooking. We couldn’t ask for more.

January 3, 2024
5-star review - Anthony A.

Pleasant and always looking around to do something for me.

December 20, 2023
5-star review - By Carole K.

Brenda brings a spirit of good health into our home.. We will go to the condo gym and Jerry will walk on the treadmill and use light weights.

Brenda understands Parkinson's Disease and is patient with Jerry, always giving him encouragement and support.
Brenda is a good listener and handles each situation with kindness and respect.

Thank you for sending Brenda to us.

December 20, 2023
5-star review - By June T.

Tina very helpful and caring. Excellent work. Willing to go above and beyond. Hope to use her services again.

November 10, 2023
5-star review - By Meg M.

Under the the care of Marni and Greg Altfest, we have had an excellent experience with Home Instead. The women that looked after, and eventually befriended our mother, were kind, competent, compassionate and reliable. We were so lucky to have such special, deeply caring people in our lives. Over many years, they enriched our mother's life immeasurably. Marni and Gregg made sure that we consistently had the care that we needed, often through very difficult and frequently changing times. Our family is deeply thankful.

June 4, 2021
5-star review - By Tom D.

We have used this service for my mother-in-law for the last few years. We have been very satisfied with the attention given by the caregivers and responsiveness when scheduling changes needed to be made. Use of the logbook to record the days activities was helpful. The caregivers kept us informed so we had confidence that she was in good hands.

February 27, 2019
5-star review - By Trish M.

 As soon as I indicated interest, I was immediately called to see if I had any questions. From the initial consultation through the placement of a caretaker, Home Instead has been professional, courteous, informative, flexible, caring, and had a full and complete understanding of the situation. The initial evaluation was thorough and dignified. The fees are competitive within the industry. However, the quality of the caregivers are FAR SUPERIOR to what other agencies offer. The caregivers are well trained, ambitious, efficient, engaging and provide dignity to the clients. The billing department is efficient and courteous. I have used this agency on several occasions and would strongly recommend them.

February 3, 2020
5-star review - By Megan S.

As the AVP of CDPAP Services at Premier Home Health Care, our team and I often have families needing home care assistance that are not yet Medicaid eligible. Because of this, we are so lucky to have such a strong working relationship with Greg Altfest and his team at Home Instead. They treat each family and client as VIP. Greg and his team are professional, caring and dedicated to their life's work. I often see Greg at industry events and I can confidently attest that there may be no other professional in the home care industry that works as hard as he does-- HE DOES NOT SLEEP! His passion and mission to help families, must keep him going! If I could rate his team 10/5 stars, I would.

February 2, 2019
5-star review - By Elizabeth G.

When my mom first entered her new home in an assisted living facility she felt lost. The routine was new, she didn’t know her way around and due to poor vision, wasn’t able to read the menu or eat her food. I sought the help of Home Instead. Greg listened and was able to find Michelle who came to help my mom two days a week. It was a good match! If she had car trouble- she took a cab to get to the facility and help my mom! She is very reliable! The people in the office were always so friendly and kind and most importantly communicative and responsive. I would highly recommend Home Instead.

January 16, 2019
5-star review - By Lori L.

When you are looking for senior care you are usually in a crisis or at the very least, going around with a “full plate”. The last thing you need is an added headache, confusion, or inadequate care partner. The first thing you need is Home Instead of Huntington Station. I have been caring for my mom with Parkinson's at my home for the last 5 years. As a medical professional, my experience suggests that having Mom home with me was the best way to monitor her care. I ran into some difficult times and just Googled senior care near my home and Home Instead came up and changed my life. They could not have been more professional, responsive, and informative. Within a few days, Greg (the owner) was at our home evaluating the situation giving us great advice on fall prevention and offering other professionals who might help with therapy, etc. Shortly after that, we had 2 caregivers able to cover the hours we requested and life took on a new meaning for mom and the other members of our family. Our caregivers are diligent, timely, attentive, friendly, and super caring. I sleep so well knowing they are near. Please do yourself a favor and consider Home Instead of Huntington Station for peace of mind in caring for your loved one! Thank you for all the extra effort you guys put into helping me find the perfect caretakers for Mom. We are truly happy and appreciative of Home Instead.

January 1, 2019
5-star review - By June T.

I am pleased with the quick response by office staff to my requests for drivers to doctors appointments, shopping, etc, As my needs increase I will be confident that Home Instead will provide whatever is necessary!

December 20, 2018
5-star review - By Helene S.

I like the personal service and time taken to understand the needs of the family and patient.

December, 19, 2018
5-star review - By Elise B.

I know that I can feel confident that my friends will receive excellent care when I recommend Home Instead.

December 18, 2018
5-star review - By Muriel H.

All of our companions are friendly, on time, attentive to my mother’s needs, and conscientious.

December 13, 2018
5-star review - By Steve O.

Wonderful and caring individuals providing support in a professional yet personal manner. The office staff are nothing short of the best! Always available to handle any changes or requests-couldn’t have put my family member's care in better hands! My mom appreciated the care and companionship (along with hard work) she received from Rosa, Patti, and Cyndella these past months. She knows she wouldn’t be where she is now without them. Thanks again for everyone's help in getting Mom back on her feet!

December 12, 2018
5-star review - By Mary B.

The owners of the Home Instead office came to my home for a visit. It was most informative and gave us a clear picture of the company and its services. The caregiver's care has been excellent and supportive. She is very cooperative and understanding of our situation. When we needed an additional caregiver, that person came to train with our current caregiver and learn my husband's needs and his care routine. We were satisfied with the coordination from the office staff in arranging 24-hour care for my husband over a week when I would not be home with him.

September 26, 2018
5-star review - By Genieve P.

Home Instead is very responsive and was able to assign a hardworking, very reliable companion who is a good match for my mom. I have not had to call the office very often, but when I do, the staff is very professional and they always get back to me. I like the fact that the companion keeps a working log of the time with my mom. I can glance through it, look at their notes, and get ideas on how they spend their time together.

September 12, 2018
5-star review - By Tom R.

Thank you for all of your help with my mom for the past 17 months that she was here with me in NY. I’d also like to say that both Christine and Dagmar were wonderful and I give them both my highest approval rating and recommendations. They are lovely human beings and were very sweet and caring with my mom. Diane was also sweet, even though we only had her a limited number of times.

August 28, 2018
5-star review - By Kim M.

This was a heartbreaking decision to move mom out of the home because the ladies that have cared for mom have been outstanding, especially Nancy. She has been with us so long, I feel like she is part of the family. Patty has also been beyond helpful and gone above and beyond to help out. I cannot say enough great things about these ladies and Home Instead. I truly thank you for the wonderful care you have given mom.

August 7, 2018
5-star review - By Juan J.

I just want to thank everyone at Home Instead for everything, I could not have taken care of my dad properly without your help. Ernestine has been a godsend!

May 7, 2018
5-star review - By Laura C.

Just want to thank you, Greg and Home Instead for the great service you gave to my family and especially my mom. It was a pleasure working with you and I wish you continued success.

March 21, 2018
5-star review - By Judy S.

Home Instead does a wonderful job of communicating, and getting coverage, and seems to send quality people to care for my mom. We have used other agencies in the past and so far no agency compares to Home Instead. Right now we have two caregivers that I can’t say enough good things about. I have recommended this agency to friends who are looking for care for their parents.

February 20, 2018
5-star review - By Joan B.

I feel fortunate that I found the right agency for me. People ask me about the agency and how lucky I have been. I believe that if any of my friends or family needed companionship help they would call Home Instead. I also know that you all have my best interest at heart and I appreciate that. I feel fortunate to have what I now consider Home Instead, like family.

January 15, 2018
5-star review - By Ruth M.

We have been so happy with Mom's care from Home Instead, and we would certainly recommend them to anyone. You all really do care about the clients and families, and Cynthia has been wonderful with mom. She is really committed to her! Thanks for all you do!

October 24, 2017
5-star review - By Rebbi

Fantastic lady! Wish she could stay!

October 5, 2017
5-star review - By Peter B.

On behalf of my siblings, I express my gratitude for all the input and help from Home Instead on this matter. I would highly recommend your services to others and wish my mom had not been so resistant to help in the past!

October 3, 2017
5-star review - By Mary B.

We have the highest praise for your team in helping us deal with the current circumstances which we find our mother. Please pass along our thanks to everyone, particularly to Jean!

September 12, 2017
5-star review - By Marie D.

I appreciate your help, it has been smooth sailing for me due to your assistance. Anick and Mary have been wonderful to my mom. I could not have survived without you all.

July 9, 2017
5-star review - By Ann G.

I wanted to thank you and the entire staff at Home Instead for the care provided to my dad and mom during the last two years. Thank you for the kind and loving care, the reliable service, and the advice and recommendations on how to create a more relaxed and healing environment for my parents. Keep up the good work!

March 16, 2017
5-star review - By Terri F.

Thank you very much for your services. Please know that we appreciate all of your support. Yogani has been such a pleasure to work with and impacted my mother's life in a really wonderful and positive way. Yogani has been a miracle worker! We can’t thank you enough for your help in making a stressful time so much easier and for enriching lives in the process.

May 31, 2016
5-star review - By Robert S.

Thank you for the wonderful care you provided for my father. It made his last year with us possible and we will never forget it. When I first called Home Instead, late at night after my dad’s injury, I expected an answering service at best or more likely a recording. Instead I got not only a real person, but the actual owners of the company! This was the first of many examples of the level of personal attention Home Instead gives to its clients. The Home Instead motto “to us its, personal” is not just marketing, its true.

March 3, 2016
5-star review - By Diana F.

I couldn’t be more pleased with Home Instead, honestly. They give us such peach of mind, they are just great!

About a year ago my Husband's Aunt fell and broke her hip. We knew she would need care when she got out of the hospital. She is a very strong woman and we knew it would take someone special to be able to care for her. We found Home Instead in Melville, NY. They were close by to our Aunt's house. We called them, and they answered all of our questions. They told us to stop by and they would give us more information. The very next day we went there, and everyone was so nice and helpful. We were able to find an aid called Alice who was a very sweet lady around 55. She has many interests that our Aunt had and we were sure that they would hit it off. They did! Our Aunt loved Alice. She was not only able to help our Aunt physically, but they became good friends. Having someone who shared interests with our Aunt was so helpful. Our Aunt responded to the care very well, and she even made a new friend. After our Aunt was well, Alice was no longer needed, but she has kept in touch with our Aunt. If we ever had to use a home care agency we would use Home Instead. They were the best!

The Benefits of Home Care

Read more about how home care services can help enhance a person’s enjoyment of life.
Home Instead Caregiver stands smiling in front of senior woman in bed