Pasadena (Change Location)

Latest Reviews & Testimonials

It’s not always easy knowing where to start in the search for a quality home care agency for yourself or a loved one – the sheer number of options can be overwhelming, and finding the right agency is crucial to future happiness and well-being.

Read what other families in Pasadena, CA have to say about Home Instead!

HI BRAND OCT20 112A8424 LT
February 4, 2024
5-star review - By Le M.

I want to share my gratitude and praise for Home Instead. A few weeks ago when both of my octogenarian parents were down with COVID, I was able to get the Home Instead onboard quickly. The minute I contacted them on the phone, I felt the assurance of good care. Jennifer, in particular, explained to me all the details and went to check on my parents that afternoon. Next day, we were lucky to have Delfa, an experienced NA, came over to take care of my mom, whose mobility was severely impacted by COVID. Now, they are COVID free and back to normal life. So, we are extremely happy about our experience with Home Instead, and will certainly call them again if needed.

January 27, 2024
5-star review - By Lillian O.

Home Instead has been very helpful in managing my husbands at home care. Dion, the gentleman who cared for my husband was very kind and patient. I definitely would recommend this service to anyone needing assistance for their family.

January 12, 2024
5-star review - By Sue A.

We are very thankful for Home Instead staff, the care manager, and the help/care of the care team. Our elderly loved one has Alzheimer's, and is legally blind and can be difficult. While we are very thankful for each and every caregiver, it's natural that there are specific individuals who have personality and characteristic dynamics-connections with their client, and a special compassion and heart connection, even with certain types of clients that can be challenging at times due to their conditions. Over the years, we have used different agencies due to different locality and need. In each agency, there are certain caregiver-client dynamics that connect more, have a rapport with a client, more than others; it is natural, and normal as in any field of work. As our loved one's Alzheimer's and needs progressed, we hired Home Instead to help when moving/transitioning to assisted living/memory care and also since then, of which also was during hospitalization and rehabilitation after major surgery.

Dip is one of those exceptional caregivers. He has a compassion for his care and his clients. He is very conscientious and aware of a clients issues and situation and of anything new that arises or changes and he communicates that clearly and well. Dip goes above and beyond from a deep caring heart for his clients and is involved greatly in noticing and learning as much as he can about the client, and connecting with them, and has a special touch with clients who have Alzheimer's that can be difficult or challenging at times. He is always thinking of how they can be most benefited, comfortable, and awake or engaged in a daily routine, or during rehabilitation after a surgery. Dip is very good at communicating about the client with the family, whether it be how the client is doing, or about anything the client is in need of or that would benefit the client, and he communicates with details and specifics, which is wonderful. He shares ideas or suggestions that he thinks may be very helpful, beneficial in the clients situation...has a rapport and connection with our loved one. He has been very key in her rehab and in helping her get used to having a routine, as he works closely with her, getting to know and understand her and he has a natural way of thinking of things to do in her unique situation to more engage her or be more involved with her or of any new tangible things that would be a blessing or helpful to her. Dip has played an immense part in encouraging her in her rehab to do that which is needful and best for her well-being, when she wouldn't for others, and during the transition time from the hospital to the rehab center. He has a heart, compassion, connection for his clients that is a gift and blessing from God. Again, we are very thankful for all the staff of Home Instead and the help/care this agency has been.

January 3, 2024
5-star review - By Cynthia B.

If you are reading this, you probably already know what a challenge it is to find high quality in-home caregiver support, ongoing or temporary, for a loved one. We have done our fair share of interviewing various groups; so perhaps this review can save you some of the leg work and point you in a good direction.

Besides having PD, my husband has had four surgeries in five years. For all but the last, I have been the sole caregiver. Remembering the challenges of the first three surgeries and anticipating a lengthy and strict (in terms of do's and don'ts) recovery period, we planned ahead and engaged Home Instead.

I confess that one of the things I had initially dreaded about engaging such a service was that we'd have a "stranger" in our home. However, from the initial Q&A and planning conversations through to the assignment of our extraordinary Caregiver (Nancy C.) and ultimately to our current, and equally extraordinary Case Manager (Anthony H)—Home Instead has been a God-send. While they do not offer medical support (e.g., nurses, etc), they do offer a full range of practical day-to-day caregiving services from skilled and experienced personnel, all tailored to the clients' particular needs.

Now for the first time in five years, I feel like someone is helping me carry all these responsibilities, which allows me to breathe again and even have a little time to myself—which enables me in turn to be a better partner and primary caregiver.

None of this would be possible without Nancy, who already feels like part of our family. Not only is she very experienced and supremely capable but Nancy also comes to work in a pleasant frame of mind, friendly and eager to help—all qualities which make us so glad we "took the plunge" and engaged Home Instead.

A shout-out also to our Case Manager, Anthony, who has streamlined all our services, found solutions to our particular care needs, and is always ahead of the curve in managing all the details between Home Instead and our Long-term Insurance Provider.

In short, I don't know how I have managed without Home Instead. Give them a call; I think you'll be pleased, too!

January 2, 2024
5-star review - By Christie W.

I enjoyed my time with Home Instead we gotta along really well and you guys help me with my independence. Nicole, my care manager, was very nice and caring all the time Tania and Virginia were very great. I recommend home in stead.

December 21, 2023
5-star review - By Nick V.

Awesome and caregivers are very caring.

December 10, 2023
5-star review - By Marianne R.

Our family had a wonderful experience with Home Instead. Anthony was particularly helpful when we first contacted the agency. He came out right away and wanted to get to know our mother so he could find the right people to support her through a difficult time. Anthony was always responsive to our calls and texts and helped us navigate some tricky times - he was always the voice of calm and help. The care givers who worked with mom were wonderful, kind and helpful and they wrote detailed reports each time they were with our mother. We are so grateful that we found Home Instead - after several calls to other agencies we knew we found one we could trust and we were right! We highly recommend Home Instead and would never hesitate to call them again if the need arises.

November 8, 2023
5-star review - By Sharon J.

I have just completed my second experience with short term in home care with Home Instead, Pasadena. In both of my experiences, the staff was caring and helpful, supportive of my recovery and gave me confidence that I would have a successful recovery.

September 23, 2023
5-star review - By Tracy E.

I highly recommend Home Instead. They made a difficult situation easier by providing good quality care (highly recommend Deon M), tenderness, professionalism and attentiveness to my 95 year old father. Their supervisor (Anthony H) and administrative staff were very accommodating, accessible, and attentive to our changing needs. Our experience with Home Instead was wonderful and I highly recommend this agency to others looking for assistance for loved ones.

August 20, 2023
5-star review - By Rick B.

They have been providing home health care aides for my 94 yr old mother and have been doing an excellent job. Jennifer makes sure everything runs right and my mom loves Melanie and the care she provides. I’m so glad we were referred to them.

August 20, 2023
5-star review - By Ryan S.

I enlisted the help of Home Instead after my mom had surgery. Anthony came out to meet my mom and was so kind. Ruby personally worked on my mother's schedule and sent an amazing caregiver, Martha. I would highly recommend Home Instead to anyone in need of home care for themselves or a loved one.

July 27, 2023
5-star review - By Steve D.

I would definitely recommend Home Instead for anyone who is considering in-home help for their loved one. The process is very straight forward and there is no risk to try. My experience has constituted a freeing up of my own time and responsibility while concurrently creating a sense of independence for my family member in need. The folks at Home Instead Pasadena are professional and responsive and if something isn't working out they will change things up and make sure you are satisfied immediately. If you're thinking about it, just do it, it will be a welcome improvement in the quality of your families life.

July 24, 2023
5-star review - By Ellen F.

Home Instead Pasadena CA has provided phenomenal care 24/7 for my sister with dementia for the last five years. The care givers are professional yet caring. The management team is responsive to questions, concerns and always available for our questions and to advise. The team has never been late or missed a shift in five years. We have fully entrusted them to care for my now bed-ridden sister. We are so grateful.

Jun 13, 2023
5-star review - By Martha M.

This is the best home care I have ever had. Everyone is very nice and very professional. They knew what I needed without me telling them. They got me a temporary wheelchair to get me to the MD and get a new walker. They made me meals and helped walk my dog, Faith. If you need home health care give them a call you won't be disappointed. They treated me very well like a person and not just herding patients.

Jun 12, 2023
5-star review - By Maggie

My 92 yo parents have been clients of Home Instead senior care for 3.5 years. We have been highly satisfied with the caregivers, the care coordinator and the administrative staff.
The caregivers are well-trained and compassionate. They consistently have staffing with no care gaps, which is critical for 24 hour care. The finance department is well-organized in providing clear billing statements and yearly summaries.

We have had past experiences with other agencies which do not provide the high quality of care of Home Instead. We strongly recommend Home Instead senior care for your loved ones.

May 18, 2023
5-star review - By Katherine F.

Home Instead served as a wonderful asset to me and my husband who needed care. Anthony Hsu, who coordinates the staff that comes to the home, is skilled in listening to your needs and then providing you with compassionate and competent staff. The staff he sent were ready to help us in any way we asked them to. We were happy to have them in our home.

April 8, 2023
5-star review - By Chelsea L.

We’ve had the pleasure of having Home Instead Care for our family. They are all so sweet, attentive, punctual and flexible with our ever changing schedules. Hearing My Grandma and Keila laughing together warms my heart…and Georgina is the sweetest soul. We love having them in our home and appreciate all they do. Thank you to Jean and her staff for all their Love and Support

March 30, 2023
5-star review - By Elaine N.

Home Instead, Pasadena is top notch! The caregivers are not only professional, they are kind and compassionate. The management team provides excellent customer service and are very easy to work with. When facing challenging times, this is so important. I highly recommend this agency.

March 30, 2023
5-star review - By Sanda L.

I work with Home Instead daily. This agency was my source of strength during the worst of COVID, supporting my residents in Assisted Living as companions and alternate staff. Meg, Ruby and (last but not least) Jen... I am humbly grateful for your partnership morning, noon and night. Reliable women providing us with reliable support. Thank you Home Instead.

~Sanda Lee, Health and Wellness Director. Pasadena Highlands.

March 30, 2023
5-star review - By Babette S.

Wonderful, caring team. Easy to work with and appreciate that I no longer have to worry about scheduling care or transportation for my mother.

Mar 24, 2023
5-star review - By Tiantzy L.

Anthony at Home Instead was the first person to make my parents feel comfortable with home care. The providers he sent were excellent. The care and professionalism provided are first rate.

March 22, 2023
5-star review - By Yolanda T.

We had been at Homestead for the last 7-8 years I believe. I highly recommend their service for the following reasons: attendance and discipline among caregivers, issues being resolved in a timely manner, staff and clerical are nice and courteous. If I have issues our case coordinator has been very helpful in trying to resolve issues in a professional way and had been consistent in every way in spite of her busy schedule.

January 16, 2023
5-star review - By Jennifer S.

In November of 2020, Joy Joaquin walked through the door and into our lives from Home Instead, Pasadena, as a caretaker/companion for my Mom, who struggles with memory loss. Joy’s authentic zest for life, qualified professional care taking skills, kindness and compassion have helped my Mom continue to have a good quality of life as this disease has progressed. Joy has been effective at trouble shooting and helping to alleviate challenging situations that inevitably arise from this disease. Joy feels like a family member and the unmistakable bond that she and my Mom have with one another is not only heartwarming, but inspiring. Great caretakers, like Joy, are invaluable. I am so very so grateful for Joy and would recommend her for any caretaking job. Thank you.

December 28, 2022
5-star review - By Sue K.

We are very pleased with everyone at Home Instead Pasadena. That wasn’t the case when we were originally searching for an agency. The reception we received the first time we called Home Instead Pasadena convinced us that this agency was a step above the others. They were warm and welcoming. It is always that way when we call. We are also impressed that they want to make sure we are satisfied with their services. The caregivers have been so pleasant, attentive, and willing to provide aid whenever needed. It is a comfort knowing that Home Instead Pasadena is there for us.

December 28, 2022
5-star review - By Paula M.

While we have had our ups and downs with finding our best caregiver over the past 3 years, we have been lucky enough to find the perfect match about 3 weeks ago. She is like family already. Her total focus is on what my mom needs each day. Tries to make each day a positive experience. Timma is always looking for ways to make things better for my mom. Through organization of her make up and personal care to organizing clothes in drawers into everyday items being organized better, she makes salad and yummy things for lunch.., and treats her to yummy treats a couple of times a week. Hard worker and empathetic.

December 12, 2022
5-star review - By Abby A.

Home Instead has been essential to the well-being of my 98 year old father. He is sharp but frail, and needs help to stay safe and active. Several years ago I convinced him to use an agency rather than trying to employ a caregiver on his own. He found Home Instead and interviewed several potential caregivers, finally choosing Norma. She does shopping, prepares meals, helps him shower safely, takes him to doctor appointments and activities, and monitors his health. She has become part of our family, and I don't know what we would do without her!

Using Home Instead means that she has consistent pay and benefits so we don't have to manage the administrative parts of being an employer in order to be sure she is fairly compensated. In order to persuade my dad I did financial workup of legal requirements of an employer (taxes, holidays, insurance, etc.) and found that it is definitely worthwhile to work with an agency like Home Instead as the employer.

Norma herself is the perfect caregiver for my father. She is smart and attentive, funny and interesting. She helps him keep up with the world and with holidays and family birthdays, etc. She makes sure my sisters and I know how he is doing and what is making him happy.

It also makes us feel confident that she is getting her earned vacation time, sick time, and holidays. Home Instead sends substitutes on those days so Dad's care is not interrupted and Norma receives fair pay and benefits. What a relief to have Home Instead, rather than scrounging on holidays or when a caregiver is ill or on vacation!

I am so grateful that we found Home Instead and our dear Norma! Dad's golden years are truly a time of joy for all of us!

November 27, 2022
5-star review - By t m

We came to Home Instead Pasadena at the suggestion of our Hospice provider. Our brother’s health was changing and he needed 24 hour care. I spoke with Anthony on Monday morning and by that evening he had arranged a team of caregivers to care for our brother around the clock. Each of the caregivers was skilled and quickly understood the care needs of our brother. Without exception he welcomed each caregiver and was visibly comforted by their presence.
We also appreciated Anthony’s continued involvement in monitoring the care and comfort of our brother. That was a great relief to the family.

July 28, 2021
5-star review - By Barbara O.

Our caregiver is fantastic! We use Home Instead for four hours every week, and our caregiver takes care of all the heavy lifting and heavy work that needs to be done. Grocery shopping, vacuuming, changing linens on beds - I depend on our Home Instead caregiver to take care of all the things we can't do ourselves. And we can stay in our own home without worrying about doing the heavy, difficult work! Thank you Home Instead!

We've had several Home Instead Caregivers during the past 3 months, and all of them have been wonderful. Each of them brings their own special personality to our home.

Aracele is a whirlwind of activity, and we very much appreciated her high-energy and upbeat personality.

Vilma is cheerfulness personified. She always has a smile on her face and brings her sunny disposition with her every time she visits our home. Delores is a real workhorse! She completes every task to perfection, and leaves no stone unturned when it comes to detail.

Simone is new to our home, and she is still adjusting to our lifestyle and our schedules. We were just notified that she will be leaving the company, and we are sure she will find an occupation that is best suited to her personality.

And coordinating all of our caregivers is Rita, a true professional and an overall lovely person. She frequently calls just to see how things are going and to find out if we need anything. Now that's dedication!

So, if you are looking for a caregiver for a family member or friend, just call Home Instead and they will take care of you quickly, competently, and with an attitude of caring that you won't find anywhere else. We couldn't be more satisfied with their help.

November 4, 2022
5-star review - By Karen B.

We have been using Home Instead Pasadena for several years now and really appreciate their caring and competent concern for their clients. Our case manager Anthony is very diligent in checking in on our elderly mother and mother-in-law who are both under our care in our home. The agency takes care to be aware of the specific needs/health concerns of each client, and the caregivers are also helpful to do tasks around the house if needed. The scheduling office is also kind and diligent when we have changes/additions to our regular schedule. We specifically appreciate our regulars, Jackie and Tamuira, as well as several other ladies we have had in our home. They have consistently shown genuine care for our family, and we are confident with the level of care we are receiving. Highly recommend Home Instead to care for your loved ones.

April 24, 2021
5-star review - By Penny S.

Very caring and supportive staff!

March 19, 2021
5-star review - By Harold L.

It's awesome and very well organized.

January 29, 2021
5-star review - By George P.

Outstanding experience with Home Instead Pasadena. Caring, gracious and understanding with my elderly mother living in a local assisted care facility. I highly recommend. Thank you.

The personal care and attention we received from Rita and the staff at Home Instead Senior Care was exceptional. My family is in a critical situation with trying to find in home care for our father who is Covid-19 positive and being released from the hospital. Rita took time to investigate all options available to us even though they are out of network for my fathers insurance company and we are not able to use her company. In a time where so many businesses are all about the bottom line, that was not the case with the Home Instead staff. They were compassionate and ready to assist in any way possible. I highly recommend them!!! If I could give them a higher review, I would. Thank you Rita for all your help and kindness, you are a gem and I hope your company knows that!

March 16, 2020
5-star review - By Roger C.

Couldn't ask for better care from more dedicated caregivers. Has made a huge difference in the quality life of my elderly parents who chose to live at home. Very personable approach by caregivers who have worked to understand the needs of my parents and meet them there forming a trusted relationship that includes emphasis on a continued enjoyment of life. Couldn't recommend more highly.

March 12, 2020
5-star review - By Karen F.

Home Instead was a lifesaver for our family! The caregivers were so patient, kind, caring and understanding with my Dad, who is suffering from advanced Alzheimer's Disease. They were able to give my Mom a much needed break from caregiving. They were extremely reliable too. I highly recommend Home Instead.

March 5, 2020
5-star review - By Amy M.

We use Home Instead for my husband, who has Parkinson's. We have a caregiver named Brenda Soria who would now couldn't do without. She makes breakfast, helps my husband with his morning routine, takes him to the gym, physical therapy, barbershop, grocery store, and anywhere else he wants to go. This allows me to keep working. I can't say enough good things about Brenda. She is the best!

December 21, 2019
5-star review - By Jonathan E.

Home Instead caregivers have gone above & beyond to help my parents!

December 5, 2019
5-star review - By ArtIsFun G.

I am very well pleased with my caregiver Yvonne. She is considerate, patient and always ask me if there is anything that needs to be done. She is always on time unless she lets the office know that she is running late and lets me know when she is outside. Anytime she is unsure of things, she always communicates with me and does things without complaining. Whenever I ask her to do a certain thing for me, she does it. She learns very fast, and with her, I am able to find things that I need easily because of how neat she sets things up. She will always let me and my father know when there is anything that needs repairing and/or replacing. I give Yvonne 5+ stars for her hard work. I am thankful for God that I have her, and I am also thankful for you and my father for her, and I am Thankful for God and my Regional Center for you and the agency. Thank you!

November 22, 2019
5-star review - By Jim R.

Home Instead Senior Care Pasadena is awesome. The owner Greg really runs a great organization. They have been providing care for my two disabled cousins for about two years now, and the care provided has been stellar. Our client care coordinator is Christine (Krys) and she is so responsive and gets things done. I have already recommended Home Instead to a co-worker who needed help with a family member, and they are also pleased. Thank you Home Instead Senior Care Pasadena.

November 18, 2019
5-star review - By William Y.

The experience has been extremely positive and uplifting. From first contact with staff supervisors to eventually engaging Gloria, Mom's caregiver, Home Instead has been professional and readily accessible in working through the entire process. It is indeed an added blessing - or perhaps a tribute to their expertise and resources in matching client to provider - that Gloria is a perfect match for Mom. They already get along like sisters. Many thanks. Highly recommended.

November 19, 2019
5-star review - By Leah S.

I have been using Home Instead to assist me in caring for my grandmother the past few years. During that time I have gotten to know their team fairly well, and they are never too busy or tired to take my calls. They listened to my specific needs for my Gram and took time to help me find the perfect match, Sandra. Then when Sandra had to move away, they were able to send me another gem caregiver, Jackie. Christine at the Home Instead office is the best scheduler, and has been supportive in the ups and downs with me as my Grams primary caregiver, and helped me so much. I feel blessed to have the kind professional support when I need it most.

November 15, 2019
5-star review - By Michael J.

Home Instead Pasadena has been a wonderful resource as our need for care and assistance at home for my mother has increased. Krys has managed our team of caregivers, and she has been very helpful and flexible with some of the unique aspects of our situation. Our caregiver team of Jeanette, Gracia and Dania have been exceptional. They are warm and caring with my mom, and make the extra effort when unforeseen challenges arise. Home Instead Pasadena is a fantastic resource for seniors who wish to stay in their homes. I recommend them without reservation.

September 30, 2013
5-star review - By Barb O.

I contracted with Home Instead to assist with my mother's hospice care during the last 3 weeks of her life. I can't recommend them highly enough. Every caregiver was extremely considerate and sensitive, not only with my mother but also with other family members who were in attendance. The Home Instead staff were there every step of the way, bathing, feeding and supplying all types of physical and emotional comfort measures 24 hours a day. Thanks to Home Instead, my mother's end of life was exactly the way she wanted it  - she passed away peacefully at home, with loving family, hospice and Home Instead caregivers at her bedside. These people are really exceptional, and they will always hold a special place in my heart.

The Benefits of Home Care

Read more about how home care services can help enhance a person’s enjoyment of life.
Home Instead Caregiver stands smiling in front of senior woman in bed