(Change Location)

Latest Reviews & Testimonials

It’s not always easy knowing where to start in the search for a quality home care agency for yourself or a loved one – the sheer number of options can be overwhelming, and finding the right agency is crucial to future happiness and well-being.

Read what other families in Luzerne, PA have to say about Home Instead!

HI BRAND OCT20 112A8424 LT
September 27, 2022
5-star review - By Bill L.
Very responsive and supportive
May 24, 2022
5-star review - By Brian D.
The team at Home Instead do a great job in helping with the transition from a full time care facility to living back at home. Initially, you really don’t know what to expect when your loved one comes back home. There are so many considerations like safety, medications, meal prep, bathroom, shower and just companionship. The Home Instead staff made that transition so much easier for our family. Having 24 by 7 care was an adjustment that my Mom and Dad had to get use to and the in home aids really become an extended part of the family. For that we are thankful.
April 18, 2022
5-star review - By Theresa S.
I would highly recommend this home care agency for anyone seeking home care. Since our first phone call to them when we were looking for at home care for my elderly parents they have been amazing. The office staff is extremely caring, understanding and professional. The caregivers (especially Jen and Evelyn) are wonderful, so kind and compassionate. I feel totally confident having them care for my parents. My parents have come to feel like they are family. My dad recently passed and we had to increase our services for my mom and they have been so accommodating. This is truly a blessing to have such a great agency so we can keep my Mom and Dad in their own home and give us peace of mind.
April 12, 2022
5-star review - By Paula O.
Home Instead has helped to make a difficult time much easier on my mom, myself and my family. The caregivers are well trained and dependable. Each person brings some of their own personality to the job and it has been such a positive experience for my mom who was very reluctant at the onset.
February 9, 2022
5-star review - By L Jennifer
My Mother lives alone, but needed help post bypass surgery. The Home Instead management and staff were wonderful to work with. We were able to get answers to our questions in a timely manner. The caregivers were terrific, lending just the amount of help Mom desired while keeping her safe, and preventing her from over doing. She started with 24/7 help and stepped down as her recovery progressed. Everyone arrived as scheduled making seamless shift changes.
January 16, 2022
5-star review - By Ann C.
Home Instead is providing excellent, wonderful care to my aging parents. They always arrive on time. They assist our parents with bathing, grooming, running errands, doing laundry and just simply providing warm interaction. Hiring them was the best decision I and my siblings made. They are kind, caring, amazing care givers. We feel so much better knowing our parents are receiving the care and support they need to fulfill their desire to remain in their home during this stage of their lives. The agency staff is extremely helpful & prompt to respond to any & all needs.
January 13, 2022
5-star review - By ppodcasy
I have the services for my Mother to help with medications, showers and meals. They were always on time and usually early. The service was always very professional but yet very caring. I could call any time and always speak with a very helpful person. I would recommend this agency to everyone who is in need of some additional help with their loved ones.
January 9, 2022
5-star review - By Rosemary D.
They always arrive on time and if they are running late or can’t make it they always call well in advance to inform me of what’s going on. A very reliable agency. I am the daughter of the client and I’m always well informed by the agency. I would recommend them highly
January 7, 2022
5-star review - By Peg M.
Home Instead Agency has reliable, caring caregivers that have provided excellent care for my mother. The caregivers are kind, caring and patient people. They always arrive on time. A bond of trust has been formed with us having the same people caring for my mother. We trust them.
January 4, 2022
5-star review - By minnieloraine
I am extremely happy with the services and the staff who are very pleasant, polite and professional in their dealings with myself and my husband. My husband has mild age-related dementia and he relates well to the conversations with the staff as well to card games which he especially enjoys. They are always on time or I am notified if there is any delay. We also go on errands such as grocery shopping and doctor visits for which we are driven by our caregiver since our driving is limited to very local areas.
January 3, 2022
4-star review - By Colleen M.
The caregiver is always early for her shift and goes above and beyond to help out with not only tending to my mother but whatever household chores we need done. I would highly recommend Home Instead!
December 30, 2021
5-star review - By Aloys 
Home Instead is very receptive to my needs and very patient with requests. They have very kind workers who make me feel comfortable at my home. They are super reliable and respectful of any concerns. I have been a client for over 3 years and hope to continue using them.
December 30, 2021
5-star review - By MK Daughter
We never had a caregiver before and had our reservations. Our initial caregiver, Valerie, is still with us has been a God send. She went and stayed with my mom during her hospital stay, her Rehab stay and her short nursing home stay. She not only knows my moms good and bad days but knows everything that has transpired along the way. There are not enough kind words to describe this women and how much she means to my mom and our family. We asked with a few weeks notice to extend the hours with my mom and they have been working diligently to try and fill these shifts. I was unsure if they would be able to find caregivers that matched with my mother. How fortunate we found Bill first who just fit right in and went with the flow then Victoria directly after that. The caregivers are on time, communicate with each other and have open communication with myself and my sister. My mother can be difficult but these individuals are caring, understanding and push her when she needs a push. We were scared about the idea of having strangers in my mothers house and caring for her. I feel Home Instead did their due diligence to ensure we had compatible and trustworthy individuals caring for mom.
October 17, 2021
5-star review - By SJBP
This Agency responded immediately to our inquiry for assistance. They took the time to meet with us and determine the level of care needed and talked us through what they offer. Their staff has not only been very responsive to our request in the beginning but each and every day/week/month. They work with us on additional times needed and have always ensured care was available. The caregivers show up on time and provide, with great care, the services we requested. They are knowledgeable, empathetic and compassionate to the daily/weekly changes endured by someone in need of help. We will never forget their kindness during a most stressful time in our lives.
September 29, 2021
5-star review - By Thomas R.
The caregivers are compassionate and helpful. Home Instead's attributes: dependable, safe, with easy communications and administration. My Aunt's return has allowed her to regain her independence in the comfort of her home.. A blessing in these trying times. I highly recommend Home Instead!
August 3, 2021
5-star review - By 820
I have Annie come twice a week to be a companion for my husband who has ALS. She is always on time. She is always friendly and chats with Joe and they watch a movie together. I am able to get my errands done and even managed to get a massage! I don’t need to worry because he is not alone. I am very happy with Home Instead. I have called their office and they answer right away. Scheduling change was easy. I even stopped by to pick up gloves and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Thanks Home Instead.
August 2, 2021
5-star review - By panzertanked
Good Service! Always show up on time and very nice.
July 28, 2021
5-star review - By Suzanne W.
I am extremely happy with the service Home Instead has given to my parents. When ever I need them to do a service with my parents, they are there to help. I recommend there service 100%. Thank you Home Instead.
July 25, 2021
5-star review - By Darlene W.
I have met so many wonderful people at Home Instead from the first phone call. They are very compassionate, helpful and want the best for their clients. They are accommodating to all requests and are very flexible. I would highly recommend Home Instead to help with any loved one's needs.
May 10, 2021
5-star review - By B_Meg
We are absolutely delighted with the attention my father-in-law receives from the staff at Home Instead Senior Care of Luzerne, PA. We felt right about this agency from Day 1, when the owner visited his home to make her pitch. The comprehensive explanation of the agency’s terms of service was clear and thorough, but it was the gentle warmth framing her professionalism that left us feeling unquestionably secure in trusting Home Instead with his care. Cheerful warmth and personal client focus are the essence of the agency’s culture. Caregivers perform a few light housekeeping tasks as needed such as vacuuming carpets, mopping the kitchen floor, wiping down the bathroom. But by far the most important service they provide for my father-in-law specifically is companionship. At 96 years young, he sometimes gets confused, forgetful, and anxious. Because of impaired mobility coupled with pandemic restrictions, he doesn’t get out much. A few hours of social interaction go a long way toward restoring positive emotions and thus supporting his general health. The agency puts considerable thought into matching caregivers with clients; as a result, he considers many of his aids to be his friends. He looks forward to their visits and speaks enthusiastically about their shared activities. They have spent hours congenially listening to his stories and cooperatively assembling jigsaw puzzles. Now that Spring has arrived, he was even treated to a fishing trip at a local park! Except for a single delay due to severe weather, caregivers have been unfailingly punctual. Given ample time, the agency has never failed to honor requests for schedule changes. Invoices are clear, and easy to pay online. Back and forth communication is efficient and friendly. This relationship with Home Instead Senior Care of Luzerne, PA is a good thing and we’re sticking with it!
March 23, 2021
5-star review - By Melissa S.
Home Instead provides services for my mother who has been afflicted with dementia. Any interactions I've had with any employee within the company has been positive and encouraging. The professional that is the caretaker for my mother provides her with so much more than just showering, feeding, and toileting. She treats her with respect, dignity and a gentle, loving touch! Having her take care of my mother provides our family a sense of relief to know she's in such good hands!
March 23, 2021
5-star review - By DOTTIE FIRST
Our caregiver comes 3 times a week. She is always prompt and very courteous and friendly. My family is more than pleased with her attention given to my wife. She makes her breakfast and showers her,a difficult job.She has become like a member of our family. We could not be more pleased
March 8, 2021
5-star review - By Lorie H.
All of the caregivers are kind and compassionate when dealing with my father. They have a lot of patience and understanding of his situation and ensure he is cared for and safe. Everyone seems to arrive on time and they ensure all tasks are completed during their shift. I appreciate the updates in the care log as this helps to understand what goes on when we are not there. I feel there is good communication about my dad’s care and that’s important so that we are all in sync with what’s going on and who’s doing what. I’m extremely happy with the services Home Instead is providing for my father. I have peace of mind knowing he’s in good hands.
January 20, 2021
5-star review - By pleased spouse
The aids and office help and supervisors have one goal in common which is to help the individual involved and his/her family in any way they can. They are always on time and complete all requests . We are pleased and grateful.
January 17, 2021
5-star review - By Gail P.
We have hired Home Instead to help with support for our Mom. We were very pleased from the first phone call to having the caregivers come into the home. The caregivers are pleasant, very knowledgeable, kind, and take care of all our mother’s needs. We would definitely recommend this agency. Thank you Home Instead!
December 30, 2020
5-star review - By Veronica W.
What a relief! Not only have my fears and anxieties been relieved, but I find my aunt to be much more relaxed and less obsessive. My aunt lives hundreds of miles away and can no longer drive. She enjoys her caregiver, goes where she needs and wants, and gets help with everyday chores. I get a touchstone for health concerns, someone to help with food prep/meds/hydration, and tremendous peace of mind. Home Instead is fantastically responsive and helpful. I highly, highly recommend.
December 28, 2020
5-star review - By johnston899
What a wonderful experience we have had with Home Instead. They provided 24/7 care in our home for my father who suffers from dementia. Every single aide that walked in our door was well trained, professional, caring and has become part of our family! We could have never given my father the care he needs without Home Instead!! This company is truly a blessing!
December 28, 2020
5-star review - By Addiej
Home Instead provides my mom with housekeeping services, laundry services and transportation needs for medical appointments and shopping, but most important it provides her family who are not close by, comfort of knowing someone is visiting her. Management staff has been available and responsive to all are request. Care staff have been reliable , friendly and caring.
December 21, 2020
5-star review - By Clare S.
Excellent reliable care. Have treated my family with the utmost respect and dignity. Best decision we ever made. On time and extremely supportive
November 27, 2020
5-star review - By Maria S.
I hired Home Instead to take care of my Mom while I am at work. The Aides are punctual, personable and very caring towards my Mom. I explain to the aides what needs to be done and they follow instructions extremely well. The agency's office staff is very efficient and answer any questions or requests that I have. I highly recommend Home Instead Senior Care- Luzerne to take care of your loved ones.
November 18, 2020
5-star review - By A. Cohen
Home Instead was able to place kind, qualified, and conscientious caregivers in Mom's home within 48 hours! The Office Manager, Client Care Manager, and Service Coordinator were thorough, supportive and understanding. During a time of crisis and urgent need, Home Instead Senior Care was there for us and we greatly appreciate their team of people and a terrific agency.
August 26, 2020
5-star review - By Ted P.
Very caring and helpful staff. Willing to go the extra mile for the client.
August 2, 2020
5-star review - By Lisa S.
The care givers are very personable, caring and helpful.
July 30, 2020
5-star review - By Molly D.
We have only been with Home Instead a short time but we are very happy with the way they conduct business and the quality of the caregivers. We hope our relationship can continue as it has begun.
July 30, 2020
5-star review - By mcbowes1
I could not be happier and more trusting with the caregiving situation in my household right now, and that is because of Home Instead. Every request which I have made has been met, and it is extremely easy for me to stay in communication with them. Home Instead exercises excellent communication skills and practices on their own end, handling scheduling for our unique situation, all while making sure that we are provided with the best care services. I am in the current position of requiring night-time aides in order to provide care for my family during a period of recovery. The quality of their service meets their excellent reputation. For me, it was a significant step to look to care provision, and I have found each and every employee to be timely, friendly, thorough and respectful. My family is very happy during their visits. For their help, I am extremely grateful and satisfied. I give them my highest recommendation.
June 3, 2020
5-star review - By Jackie S.
We used Home Instead for my grandfather due to his wife's passing and the progression of confusion of her being gone. The caregivers were excellent with him and really understood how to help him through his day. They treasured his quirks and him. The Home Instead Staff made sure that he was never left alone, had consistent caregivers and were very accommodating. I would recommend Home Instead highly. It gave our family the piece of mind that our family member is not alone, safe and well taken care of.
May 22, 2020
5-star review - By SCH816
Home Instead by far provides a superior service than other area providers. My loved one has had another agency in the past and the quality of service from Home Instead by far surpasses the competition. They care about the family members and update when there is a replacement caregiver (which they always find), provide on site visits when there is any issue and always return our calls. Home Instead allows us to keep my mom home and provide peace of mind.
May 21, 2020
5-star review - By Casey
The caregivers took excellent care of my Dad and became good friends, They went far beyond what was expected of them, They brightened our days provided much TLC for my Dad. They were very willing to help in any way and always asked if there was anything else they could do for us. Without their help it would have been impossible to keep my Dad at home. I am extremely grateful for their assistance.
May 20, 2020
5-star review - By Marie P.
I have two great assistants. They take me to the doctors and will pick up my medicines for me. They do my wash and dust the house and even help me put up decorations.
April 27, 2020
5-star review - By Jerry H.
Our Aunt had to go into Rehab and was gone about 4 weeks....Home Instead very quickly put together the staff to help in just 2 days. All the care givers are wonderful and our Aunt is very happy that she is not alone. We have been using them for over a year with no problems.
January 18, 2020
5-star review - By Scott F.
The Home Instead Senior Care caregivers and support staff have been wonderful to my father and stepmother and me. From the first time I called the office to set up the initial visit months and months ago -- until now they all have been warm and understanding showing great compassion to those involved. My father and stepmother adore the caregiver that comes to their home. They feel safe and she really goes above and beyond to help them. The Home Instead Senior Care Caregivers been a blessing to us I thank them so much.
November 24, 2019
5-star review - By Melissa K.
The care and compassion shown by Peggy and all the staff for our Aunt was absolutely amazing. If our family could give 10 stars to them we definitely would. Can’t recommend them enough!!
October 22, 2019
5-star review - By Linda W.
Mom is so pleased with her caregiver. A great fit, very professional company with a heart.
June 15, 2019
5-star review - By Mary Lynn P.
Outstanding service! My mom LOVED spending time with her “friends”! Highly recommended!
June 6, 2019
5-star review - By Sharon M.
Trusting, compassionate, professional and sincerely understanding of the entire family’s needs. Definitely a step above the rest of other home care agencies.
May 31, 2019
5-star review - By George M.

I'm not a review type person. I do though read reviews. I feel they are extremely important in referencing a product or service.

After experiencing what Home Instead has to offer I felt compelled to write a review.

From day one I found their staff to be very friendly and knowledgeable.

Peggy who is a staff member met with family at our home. She was prompt, friendly, and answered all questions that we had. She explained in great detail how the company got started and what their goals are with each individual they might be taking care of.

We were looking for someone for companionship a few days a week for my mom. It wasn't easy, but they found the perfect match for her. Something I thought would never happen.

My mom is 91 so finding a care taker for companionship was not easy. Well, needless to say my mom looks so forward to seeing her during the week. It doesn't stop there. The care giver is very aware of her needs and to be honest, treats my mom as though she is family. I can't say enough. about the service.

The other nice thing is when you need to contact the office there is always a pleasant and friendly voice that takes the call.

Staff and service providers do much more than I can explain here. I gave them a 5 star rating simply because they go above and beyond.

April 3, 2019
5-star review - By Joy B.

I am is extremely pleased with the care provided by Home Instead. They are professional, easy to deal with and always punctual. They are of great help to our family, take great care of my husband. Excellent service and I highly recommend to anyone who needs home health services .

April 3, 2019
5-star review - By Bill & Sandy G.

We want to publicly thank Peggy and her chosen caregivers for the wonderful caring way they helped my dad through some very difficult months before he needed to move into assisted living. While we only need Home Instead for a few months, during that time with our family living a distance from dad we felt relieved knowing he was in good hands, having a good meal at least once a day (we also had another agency filling in the gaps). We would highly recommend Home Instead for their integrity, communication, caring and kind caregivers, and overall trustworthiness. We feel blessed that they were there for my dad, and my dad truly loved the time they spent watching westerns with him! ❤ Thank you Luzerne Home Instead/Peggy and your staff. God Bless.

March 27, 2019
5-star review - By Chris S.
The staff in the office were friendly and professional. There was regular communications and quick responses to questions or concerns. The caretakers were dependable and attentive.
March 20, 2019
5-star review - By Chesla Ann L.
Home Instead is amazing!!!! Louise is awesome in every way!!!! She truly is a blessing to our family and having her as my grandma's caregiver continues to be a godsend!!! I highly recommend Home Instead and especially Louise to families out there who need extra special care, wonderful attention, and lots of compassion and patience for their loved ones!!!
March 20, 2019
5-star review - By Theresa K.
After utilizing the services of another copy who didn't deliver as promised, my family is extremely pleased with the care provided by Home Instead. They are professional, pleasant to deal with and always punctual. They are a great help to our family, take great care of my father and I would recommend to anyone.
February 25, 2019
5-star review - By Debbie W.
My dad is in a wheelchair & house bound. Home Instead paired us up with very capable & caring aids, that both parents feel comfortable with. Them feeling that way, comes as a relief to me, as I work long days. Several reasons I like them. They call if a Aid is unable to make their shift. (last place did not do that) and will get a replacement if needed. If Aid is not there on time they call to see why. (last place left us hanging) Aid goes to Drs. appt. with my father and asks questions on his care, and relays info to me. Any issues that we have are talked about are handled quickly. Every couple of weeks we have a nice gal from the office that pays a visit to see how things are going and check paper work. In doing this she knows my parents personally which helps in her picking out Aids, and the services that are needed. I feel a relief in knowing that my parents are in their hands. 
November 25, 2018
5-star review - By Sara L.
The staff at Home Instead is superior. Although my family only utilized their services for a short period, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Caregivers are compassionate and really make their clients feel like family. The admin staff is easy to contact with questions and are always familiar with your situation. If you are looking for care for your elderly family members, look no further.
October 1, 2018
5-star review - By Jim W.
Very professional company. The employees are highly qualified and communicate with the patient and are friendly . The company has the proper employee screening in place and have clear polices in place
September 25, 2018
5-star review - By H. Corcoran
Our caregiver is kind and courteous to the needs of my wife who has Alzheimer’s disease. Her understanding of the situation is exhibited by her patience and consideration. She always has an upbeat attitude and is able to make my wife happy and at ease. What else could one want from a caregiver. She makes our lives much more pleasant.
June 19, 2018
5-star review - By Theresa S.
Excellent personalized care giving, kind, reliable and attentive caregivers, great administrative staff. Everyone I have interacted with helps to meet the needs of my loved one. We have used their services for more than three years. Job always well done! I would recommend them to anyone who inquires.
June 6, 2018
5-star review - By Molly E.
Home Instead was highly recommended. They have provided a great caregiver and have great communication.
October 28, 2017
5-star review - By Charlene D.
Home Instead – Luzerne – has provided an invaluable service to allow my mom to maintain her independence. They started by providing gentle, caring companionship. As her mobility and cognition deteriorated, Home Instead stepped up their level of care. Living out of state, Home Instead provided a piece of mind that my loved one was in good hands.
October 18, 2017
5-star review - By Elizabeth O.
Home Instead has provided my 93-year-old mother with exactly the support she needs to remain in her home -- which is her desire. Her caregiver, Pat, and care manager, Heather, have exceeded our expectations in assisting my mother with the tasks she can no longer manage by herself. In addition, Pat is very personable, skilled and willing to do whatever may arise. My mother consistently describes Pat as "very, very nice." She also asks, "Where did you find these people? They're wonderful!" From the very first visit, Pat and my mother got along well; the transition was very smooth. This is a very effective and trusted relationship. I am extremely grateful to Home Instead for their high standards and responsiveness. I recommend them wholeheartedly.
September 26, 2017
5-star review - By augie711
If there was a 6th star I'd give it to them. The compassion all the caregivers gave my parents was astonishing. No need to call anyone else.
May 18, 2017
5-star review - By Richard K.
They communicate well regarding their services including providing other family members access to a "Family Room" online. I have also found them to be responsive whenever questions are asked or concerns expressed. Very professional organization. To date, I have also been pleased with the quality and reliability of the people they have assigned to assist my mother.
May 8, 2017
5-star review - By Rose Anna F.
My brother needed home health care. I searched the internet for home health care and found Home Instead to be highly rated. Since I wanted the best for my brother, I contacted them to make arrangements for the care. They were very helpful in giving information about their facility. I am glad for their caregivers. The caregivers they provided are very compatible with my brother, and they take excellent care of him. Those caregivers are Russ Hadley and Rose Yanushka. I have nothing to worry about when he is under their care. The staff is also very helpful when I need assistance with schedules, and they supply a caregiver in the event Russ or Rose can't be there. I would recommend Home Instead to others who need home health care. Thank you for all you help. God bless you!

The Benefits of Home Care

Read more about how home care services can help enhance a person’s enjoyment of life.
Home Instead Caregiver stands smiling in front of senior woman in bed