Our office

serves Amston, Andover, Ashford, Bolton, , Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Columbia, Coventry, Danielson, Dayville, Eastford, Ellington, Hampton, Mansfield, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Somers, Stafford Springs, Storrs, Thompson, Tolland, Vernon, , Willimantic, Willington, Windham, Woodstock
Select a different office

Home Care Reviews

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care Reviews
See All Our Google Reviews

More Reviews & Testimonials:

The service was excellent, both Michelle and Alexia worked hard, did anything I asked them to do, and did it well. I really enjoyed having heir company and being able to rest my injured leg. Thank you! Julia B, Client, Town of Mansfield, March 2019


The care prover was excellent! Services represented were followed through on and substitutes were arranged without glitches when needed. Care program was initiated quickly and efficiently. We feel blessed to have such a consistent, caring individual with Mom. Kim B, Daughter of Client, Town of Ashford, February 2019


Caregivers were friendly and reliable. They helped greatly with our concerns and comfort for our parents a time of need, after a bad experience with another company. Thank you again! Cathy H, Daughter of Client, Town of Tolland, February 2019


I had used another senior care provider for my parents for about two years. We were never happy with the quality of the staff provided, so made the change to Home Instead. The care giver you provided us is excellent! Professional, outgoing (without going overboard!), a hard worker and just great to be around! My parents are so much happier! Thanks so much! Robert P, Son of Client, Town of Coventry, October 2018


Home Instead provided excellent companionship for my Mother who suffers from dementia.  The Caregivers were friendly, reliable, and built a very good relationship with her.  The office staff were also very reliable and professional.  I highly recommend Home Instead. Randy M, Son of Client, Town of South Windsor, October 2018


Care given has been over and above what is expected. - Darlene N, Wife of Client, Town of Manchester, September 2018


"Home Instead has made such a difference in my father's life. His home help visitor comes twice a week for a couple of hours in the afternoon, and even this relatively small amount of time makes all the difference. My father (83 years old) feels comfortable with the woman who helps him and looks forward to her visits. She helps with cleaning and grocery shopping, but perhaps even more important, she is a cheerful and kind companion. She is reliable and punctual. Home Instead has also been great about communicating with me, always answering emails promptly. I would definitely recommend Home Instead for older adults who need some support to keep living independently at home." - Audrey M, Daughter of Client, Town of Storrs, September 2018


"Home Instead caregivers and employees continue to be reliable, exceptionally professional with compassion for my particular situation. I have been using Home Instead in Maine and here in CT for over 4 years now in care for my parents. There is a sincere attempt to provide continuity in staff for shifts especially when there is an unexpected change in the main plan. I like the team approach in coping with those situations so that my mother has a person she knows sometimes on short notice. The caregiver journal provides that continuity too if there is a particular issue being monitored. The trust factor is very important and I feel my mother is safe when I leave her with our caregiver. There are a couple of other things that make Home Instead's standards what I'm looking for. I receive billing on line. This eases my bookkeeping. Overall, I am very satisfied with Home Instead in Tolland, CT for care of my mother." Donna F, Daughter of Client, Town of Mansfield, September 2018


The caregivers are committed to the person in their charge. I can't say how important that is for the care giver to actually care. When they do, it shows in everything they do. It's pretty impressive to see. Rebeccah F, Daughter of Client, Town of Lebanon, September 2018


Working with a staff that is stable with their days of work is a big help. Having different staff often confuses the patient and causes stress and anxiety. That if why I enjoy having one caregiver on all three days required. Joan M, Wife of Client, Town of Columbia, September 2018


Most of the providers are superb, and the Home Instead office staff have been super-responsive to any issues that have arisen. My 92-yr-old mom loves having them in her apartment daily, just as I love working with them. David M, Son of Client, Town of Mansfield, September 2018


On-boarding team was extremely helpful, patient and accommodating. The team was very responsive to our recent concern, thoroughly investigated and communicated an action plan. Kathleen R, Daughter of Client, Town of Andover, August 2018


I like that I am kept informed of my parent’s interactions with the office staff and caregivers. Barbara A, Daughter of Client, Town of Ellington, July 2018


We are very pleased with all the people you have sent us. Saul B, Client, Town of East Windsor, July 2018


The caregivers are sincere and very nice. I'm at ease leaving my loved one for the time needed. Paula B, Daughter of Client, Town of Willington, June 2018


I think that all of the aides have great personalities and really know what they are doing with regard to caring for my mother. I also like that they have helpful suggestions. We are grateful that my mother can have her dog and cat out while the aides are at my mom's home. My mother really likes every aide and feels well cared for. Many thanks. Kathy F, Daughter of Client, Town of Andover, June 2018


While our mother was at home, she received excellent care from your caregivers. Without exception, they were well-trained and competent, patient and thoughtful. Nevertheless, what impressed us most was that they did more than simply take care of her physical needs. They also tried to make her life better, to make her home environment more pleasant, and to make her happier. This was unexpected and so much appreciated. - Linda and Liz, Daughters of Client, Town of Storrs, March 2018


The Home Instead folks who stepped in promptly to help us care for our 95 year old relative so he could remain in his own home as long as possible provided superlative, highly responsive and responsible care. Their patience and willingness to work with our family for their client's best interests and needs was simply amazing. Every case has certain individual challenges I am sure, and Home Instead was able to work with my family very effectively and extended great kindness, skill and understanding to our loved one. Good people doing good work. How great is that. Relative of Client, Town of Willimantic, October 2017


The family of Omer Roberts would like to sincerely thank everyone at Home Instead Senior Care for the care that was given to our wonderful dad, especially all the caregivers that made it possible for him to spend his last days at home where he wanted to be. Home Instead Senior Care provided 24/7 care for my Father, because of the kind and compassionate caregivers he was able to stay in his own home until the very end. The Administrative staff were amazing and were available 24 hours a day for any issue that arose. Can't say enough good things about them. Carolyn, Daughter of Client, Town of Windham, September 2017


We have been extremely satisfied with Home Instead’s companions, especially Miriam, Ashley, Michele and most recently, Leslie, in addition to your attentiveness to our requests and needs. I am happy to refer your agency to anyone in need of services for a family member. Cynthia, Daughter of Client, Town of Manchester, September 2017


Thank you so much for all that you did for my mom when she was ill. The kindness, caring, and support can’t be put into words. Your staff is so special. It takes special people to do a heartfelt job of care giving. I am grateful to have found a wonderful agency to work with. Thank you again for all you do for people who need loving care. - Judy, Daughter of Client, Town of Willington, May 2017


I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you for the wonderful services you provided my Mother over the last three years of her life. Although it was no easy task to decide and then find the right persons to care for my Mom when it became necessary, I look back now and can’t imagine our lives without all of your support.

Kathleen, Deena, Kashmir, and Bobbi were wonderful to work with as interviews were made, questions answered and appropriate people found for my Mom. I especially want to give my sincere thanks and gratitude to Kelly and Leslie who quickly became family members of our household. Their professionalism, kindness, and continuous devotion to my Mom was heartfelt every time either one walked through my Mom’s door. As I told Kathleen, there are two additional holes in my heart right now that need to be repaired as my family and I mourn my Mother’s passing. Please let it be known that Kelly and Leslie brightened my Mother’s days with sunshine and happiness, even on the cloudiest of days.

You can be assured that if anyone in the Tolland, CT area ever asks for recommendations for homecare, Home Instead will be at the top of my list. - Linda, Daughter of Client, Town of Glastonbury, August 2017


"We've used Home Instead providers for my now-92-yr-old mom for a number of years, initially for a few hours daily and, most recently, for 24-hr care. The staff at the office has always been extremely accommodating to special requests, as well as finding substitute providers, even at the last minute, if the scheduled provider cannot be there. I've met all of the providers over the years, and they have been outstanding in terms of the direct services they are allowed to provide. The downside is that, probably for legal reasons, there are tasks they are not allowed to provide, such as administer medication. Because my mom needed 24-hr-care, coupled with the high cost of Home Instead, we recently moved her into a nursing home, which is less costly, and where nurses are allowed to administer medication. Were it not for cost and task-limitations, I would gladly have kept mom in her apartment with providers from Home Instead. Despite the limitations, I enthusiastically give Home Instead my highest recommendation, and would not hesitate to use them when fewer hours are needed and when medication can be self-administered."

Posted by Dr. M. on Apr 03 2019

"Very flexible in terms of scheduling changes when needed. Home providers, while variable sometimes, are basically excellent."

Posted by Dr. M. on Dec 19 2018

"Home Instead has made such a difference in my father's life. His home help visitor comes twice a week for a couple of hours in the afternoon, and even this relatively small amount of time makes all the difference. My father (83 years old) feels comfortable with the woman who helps him and looks forward to her visits. She helps with cleaning and grocery shopping, but perhaps even more important, she is a cheerful and kind companion. She is reliable and punctual. Home Instead has also been great about communicating with me, always answering emails promptly. I would definitely recommend Home Instead for older adults who need some support to keep living independently at home."

Posted by Receiver of Home Care help on Sep 23 2018

"Professional staff and very helpful"

Posted by JCC on Jan 17 2018

"Dear Jane, I want to thank you for your kindness and good work of your staff at Home Instead. My husband is at the last phase of Hospice care but comfortable. All the best, Wife of Client, Town of Storrs, October 2017"

"Home Instead saved my life and my income. I asked them to come in because I gave up driving and my cousin told me how Home Instead helped him with his wife. I gave them a call and when they arrived, there was a letter on my table that I thought was junk. The person made a few phone calls and found out that my social security was about to be sent to a different account and that my address had been changed. Another time, they arrived to find me feeling under the weather. The Care Coordinator took me to the hospital and stayed with me until I was seen and taken care of. 7 hours ! I would be lost without my Home Instead people. I am thankful for them every day."

Posted by oldlady95 on Oct 04 2017

"The Home Instead folks who stepped in promptly to help us care for our 95 year old relative so he could remain in his own home as long as possible provided superlative, highly responsive and responsible care. Their patience and willingness to work with our family for their client's best interests and needs was simply amazing. Every case has certain individual challenges I am sure, and Home Instead was able to work with my family very effectively and extended great kindness, skill and understanding to our loved one. Good people doing good work. How great is that."

Posted by sleclaire1@mac.com on Oct 03 2017

"Home Instead Senior Care provided 24/7 care for my Father, because of the kind and compassionate caregivers he was able to stay in his own home until the very end. The Administrative staff were amazing and were available 24 hours a day for any issue that arose. Can't say enough good things about them."

Posted by carjor4730 on Sep 27 2017

"I was referred to Home Instead by a friend. I placed a call and received an immediate response. The companions assigned to my Dad have been wonderful and compassionate. We all have specific personalities we respond too best and Home Instead listened to our needs. The entire staff are professional, respectful and responsive. I sincerely recommend their services. "

Posted by Wilbur2013 on Sep 22 2017

"Professional, responsible and caring caregivers (all of the caregivers assigned to my mother over the past two and a half years have been fantastic, Mom's current caregiver is wonderful); Easy and friendly communication with staffing department and with Jane D. "

Posted by S. Peng on May 01 2017


Learn More

Rates & Hours

We can tailor a home care arrangement to fit both your family's lifestyle and budget.

Read More
Careers

Reap rewards beyond measure -- and get paid, too.

Read More
Our Story

As a locally owned business, we offer friendly, responsive service right in your neighborhood.

Read More ​​​
Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample