Our office

serves Banks, Buxton, Cornelius, Forest Grove, Gales Creek, Gaston, Hillsboro, Manning, North Plains, Timber, Clatskanie, Columbia City, Deer Island, Rainier, Scappoose, St. Helens, Veronia, Warren, Carlton, Dundee, McMinnville, Newberg, Sheridan
Select a different office

Home Care Reviews

  1. Home
  2. Home Care Services
  3. Client Testimonials

​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Hillsboro, OR have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"Home Instead can supply caregivers 24/7. They are careful to find the best fit for your loved one, and are understanding and flexible if the “fit” isn’t right. Caregivers are honest and trustworthy. Home Instead takes care to see that their caregivers are fully trained for the clients’ needs."

Posted by AnnHelen on Oct 24 2017

"Home Instead has a team of people that really seem to care about your needs and are very willing to work with you on concerns. They work hard to make sure a caregiver is always available. I feel more relaxed knowing they provide excellent care."

Posted by W. Miller on Oct 17 2017

"My experience has been they are a very compassionate and supportive company not only to the client but staff as well. I personally have had a family situation that required my complete attention and Home Instead has given me the time to deal with the situation with understanding and respect. In all my years in the work environment this is the only company that has shown me that kind of compassion and indulgence. Thank you Home Instead."

"You guys have given me a since of freedom and hope! Thank you for your help"

"The girls you have assigned to me are excellent and very dependable - thanks"

"I am having very good experiences with Home Instead, they are very attentive to our needs, my husband has parkinsons disease & needs assistance & companionship, mainly to make sure he doesn't fall or hurt himself, they feed him meals, help with our pets, have taken him to the Dr. and even small things around the house! when there was billing misunderstanding, they resolved it immediately. I really am happy with the service. Vicki "

Posted by perfectionist on Sep 25 2017

"Very professional and easy to work with."

Posted by Lhoekman on Jul 19 2017

"Scheduling is flexible. The staff work hard to ensure a good fit with the caregivers and myself. Any issues, schedule changes, special needs are dealt with quickly, painlessly and professionally. "

Posted by RedSoxWheelie on Apr 23 2017

"Your communication skills are excellent. If there is an issue I am always called and so I know exactly what is going on with my mother's care. Her caregiver, Michey, is really wonderful and is like part ofour family. May mother always looks forward to the days she comes. All in aal, our experience has great."

"All the personnel at Home Instead have been very helpful. We especially like the managers we have met, Todd and Danielle. Our helper, Amber H., has made our life so much easier. Amber is always happy and solves our problems. "

Posted by Wheel Chair Dave on Jan 23 2017

Frances
Hillsboro, OR. - July 2016

I'm using Home Instead a couple of days a week. For one thing, I liked the social worker that came out and talked to me. I was in rehab, and she followed up with a call and came out the day I came home. They mostly just help me with my house and cooking, shopping, and taking me to the doctor because I had home health coming in until last week. I like my CAREGiver a lot. We're very compatible, and she's not pushy or anything. She usually just asks what I want to have done and does it. The scheduling had been good. 
​​​​​​​​                                                                                                                                                                            

Debbie M., Case Manager
Forest Grove, OR. - April 2016

The staff is very responsive to our needs, pleasant and professional to work with. They keep me in the loop about my client’s needs and let me know when they see something that may need attention.​
                                                                                                                                                                           

Anne K., daughter of Helen
Portland, OR. - April 2016

Schedulers are great. I had need for 24/7 care for my mother recently after I had broken my wrist. I had been using the Portland franchise for occasional care but they couldn't fill my needs completely so Hillsboro and Portland worked together to help me care for mom. Very smooth and efficient! Thank you!
                                                                                                                                                                           

Kelli L., daughter of Bill and Kay
Hillsboro, OR. - April 2016

Extremely well organized. Great communication. Great staff. Friendly people!​
                                                                                                                                                                           

Steve M., father of Ryan
Forest Grove, OR. - March 2016

The Home Instead care workers I've encountered in helping my 28-year-old son have been very helpful, friendly, and supportive. The office staff is very responsive to our many phone calls. Thanks Home Instead!
​                                                                                                                                                                             

Jeff, son of Kareen
Beaverton, OR. - June 2014

Thank you all so much! My mother's recent fall put all of our summer plans in flux, but you
stepped in and have given our entire family, all of our friends, and the neighbors incredible
peace of mind. Sincere appreciation is not enough.
 ​
Fred H., son of Audrey
Portland, OR. - November 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

I was referred to Home Instead two years ago by the manager of the independent living facility where my mother lived. I have to say that was probably one of the best , if not the best, referral for services I've ever gotten. I have run my own business for three decades and understand how important customer support is. In every way that matters with regards to senior care, Home Instead has exceeded my expectations. From the smallest detail of care to the really big issues of monitoring changes in my mom's physical and mental health, Home Instead was excellent.

Since I live out of town and  can't be with my mom every day, I relied on Home Instead to tell me how she was doing, how the caregivers were doing with her (she was a challenge to get along with), how her nutrition was going, what the doctors said at appointments, etc. I became so confident in Home Instead's responsiveness and frequent communications that it allowed me to focus on long term care issues rather than just the daily support, care, and maintenance needed for my mother's well being.

As my mother deteriorated, Home Instead was always able to respond. In two years, there was never a single gap in the care when we needed it. The caregivers that cared for my mother were excellent and scrupulously honest. Whenever there was a caregiver that my mother didn't like (which was mostly due to her, not the caregiver), they found someone who she would allow into her apartment and work with.

Over the last year, there was one main caregiver during the week and then others on the weekends. This particular person was a companion and friend to my mother and had endless patience with her. Her dedication to the well being of my mother was better than anything I could ever have hoped for. It speaks very well of the Home Instead management that they are able to attract and keep such wonderful people for a job that can at times be quite thankless.

I could probably write pages and pages extolling the virtues of Home Instead, but to put it simply, I can with complete and total confidence recommend their services to anyone in need of help with an elder.
 
​Kathy and Barb, daughters of Doris
Beaverton, OR. - August 2013

Dear Home Instead Staff,

We so greatly appreciated your staff during the last few weeks of our mother's life. Your people balanced beautifully the many roles a caregiver needs to perform. They were always professional, yet caring. Sarah and Vicky were such blessings to our entire family. They were very competent and helped give all of us peace of mind.

Thank you also for the flowers in Mother's honor. We have shared with many people the excellent service you provided on so many levels including physical, mental, and even spiritual when Mom wanted to pray. Again, we were so glad you helped make this time a peaceful one for our family.
 
​Lori S., daughter of Doug and Karen
Portland, OR. - January 2013

In order to cover our sudden need for 24-hour care, Home Instead had to schedule several caregivers. I am still amazed at the number of kind and competent people that came to help us! Of course, there were a few that were not a good match. I emailed Tina, the Home Instead staff coordinator, with my concerns, and she IMMEDIATELY replaced them. She learned quickly what qualities were important to us and sent people that were compatible.

We were never made to feel that our concerns were too picky. The phone was always answered right away by a friendly, helpful person. Every Home Instead staff member seemed to “get” that this time of life is super stressful. I always felt reassured and supported at every contact with Home Instead. We requested as few different people as possible, and they accomplished this quickly with only two 12-hour shifts per day.

Because our caregivers were doing most of the housekeeping and physical care (changing Depends and bedding mostly!), our family had the energy to have quality time with my dad – every day we sang together, sat in the sun, ate meals together, and visited with some of his old students. It was a poignant and treasured time for us.

Link to Complete Referen​​ce Letter 

 

​Susan, friend of Margaret
Beaverton, OR. - November 2012

Dear Lynnae, 

I am writing to express my gratitude and sincere thanks for the help and assistance Home Instead provided our family during the passing of our friend, Margaret.  From the first call we placed to Home Instead, right through until the end of the provided services, we were always dealt with professionally and humanly - something that really helped to make the whole process so much easier.

Margaret's wishes were always to remain in her own home until she passed, and the assistance of all the Care Givers allowed us to make that happen for her.  She received kind, caring assistance from each of the Care Givers, and was given the space she needed to feel she was still in control in her own home, but also received the help she needed to remain safe as she declined.  While she initially wasn't thrilled to have outsiders in her home, she came very quickly to regard each of the Care Givers as friends, and enjoyed spending time with them. 

Of particular help to me was having access to a Home Instead Nurse.  She was a wonderful liaison between us and the Hospice folks, and always took the time to explain what was happening and why.  It was a great comfort to know that Margaret's well-being was being monitored by an additional set of medically trained eyes. 

I am not going to call out the Care Givers by name, because I know I would probably miss someone, but I would greatly appreciate it if you could pass along our thanks to each of the individuals who spent time with Margaret over the last two months. 
 
​Jean P., Client
Tigard, OR. - September 2012

Dear Mr. Brunt,

My recent experience with Home Instead was so very satisfying and all because of Kate. My memory is poor now, but I am grateful to Home Instead for sending Kate. I have forgotten her last name. She is a combination of Mary Poppins and Wonder Woman! She is marvelous at arranging things and sorting things. Her suggestions are to the point and praiseworthy. She could easily be a housekeeper, because she can do it all and very well. Thank you for Kate. She is a marvel!
 
​Kathy, daughter of Patty
Hillsboro, OR. - September 2012

Dear Mike,

I'd like to take this opportunity to let you know how much we appreciated Home Instead's caregiving services this last year for Mom. When we contacted you last year, we were at our wit's end. Mom's dementia had progressed to the point where she needed some help with daily needs, but didn't require full-time care. And she desperately wanted to stay in her home with her dog.

The services Home Instead provides were the perfect solution for us. We had caregivers come in every day for just 2 hours in the late afternoon to make sure Mom took her meds and to help her with evening meals, plus anything else she'd let them do.

We knew her needs were being met, but your caregivers went above and beyond what we had expected. Not only were they able to professionally handle the constant questions from Mom (i.e. why are you here? Who are you? etc.), but at different times, they each brought in a home-cooked meal for Mom, took her on walks, and even an occasional ride on a nice day. And they put up with her dog -- not always an easy task

We finally had to move Mom to assisted living last month, which has been and continues to be a real challenge. We deeply appreciate the thoughtful caregiving Home Instead delivered this past year. It relieved a lot of pressure from my shoulders and allowed us to let Mom have one more year with her dog in her own home.
 
​Michael, attorney of Pauline
Tigard, OR. - August 2012

To all at Home Instead Senior Care:

Thank you all very much for the excellent care provided to my client, Pauline, over the last year or so. Pauline was cared for with kindness and respect.
 

Dave, son of Helen
Tualatin, OR. - August 2012

Dear Mr Brunt,

Thank you so much for the kind, gentle care you all provided to my mother during her final days. Your presence made me comfortable she received only the best.
 
​Diana, daughter of Naomi
Portland, OR. - June 2012

Dear Ms. Rhoades,

Thank you for the recent care my 95-year-old mother received through Home Instead Senior Care. Mom's helper was Niki, and she did a very good job assisting with bathing, cleaning, cat duties, breakfast, and various other things. I know the companionship Niki gave Mom was also very helpful.

We hope to re-engage Home Instead Senior Care when the need arises. I also would not hesitate to recommend Home Instead to anyone who needs assistance on either a short-term or long-term basis.
 
​Esther, wife of Ralph
Hillsboro, OR. - March 2012

Dear Friends at Home Instead,

I wanted to express my personal thanks to your CAREGivers for the kindness and consideration that they showed my late husband, Ralph, during his illness. During difficult times, it was comforting to know that you were there.

(Note: At Ralph's memorial service and life celebration, special thanks was given to 
Home Instead Senior Care on the printed program.)
 
​Betty, daughter of Lois
Hillsboro, OR. - February 2012

Dear Mr. Brunt,

I would like to thank you for providing excellent supportive care to my mother in her home. She was able to remain there until she was 97 years old.

Our initial contact was a pleasant visit in your office that was promptly followed by an interview of my mother in her home. She was pleased with and impressed by most of your Home Instead workers over the four years. Problems were quickly resolved. The continuity of care was excellent. When she finally needed to move to foster care, her Home Instead caregiver was able to continue to come to see her and help her with transportation. I appreciated your flexibility. The caregiver had an excellent relationship with my mother and with the foster care owner.

My contacts with your office staff were very nice. I had a wonderful team to work with. I felt confident that they would always consider my mother's safety and comfort, even when I couldn't be there to check on her. They even provided help to take her to the hospital and provided 24-hour care just before her move to foster care.

My mother would want me to convey her thanks along with mine for all of your services. I will keep you in mind if I need future services for myself.
 
​Shellie and Chip, children of Mary
Cornelius, OR. - September 2011

"Our time with Home Instead Senior Care was brief, more so than anticipated. Home Instead took a very stressful time and tried to make things better for all of us, not just our mom.  The caregivers were very gentle and caring in the short time they spent with us.  With their help, we were able to be fully present with our mom’s passing.

From the initial interview to the final contact, the Home Instead team performed admirably in a professional, competent, and compassionate manner. We would be happy to recommend this service without reservations.
 
Stacey, daughter of Dorothy and Jim
Hillsboro, OR. - June 2011

As far as feedback on Home Instead services and the CAREGiver’s that have come to our home....it's been such a wonderful experience. Seamless and happy and THE one & only thing that has been easy through this entire process.

Each CG that has come and the ones who are now scheduled each week (Linda and Sally) are  really good, loving and compassionate women. They smile. They always ask if we need anything/more, and they both just jump right in and get the job done whether its cooking or taking my mom to the bathroom to sitting and visiting with my dad.

I am very honest when I say this has been the easiest of everything we’ve all done through the last couple months. Thank you very much for your loving service to every family that needs you! You’ve all made such a positive impact for my family.

Learn More

Rates & Hours

We can tailor a home care arrangement to fit both your family's lifestyle and budget.

Read More
Careers

Reap rewards beyond measure -- and get paid, too.

Read More
Our Story

As a locally owned business, we offer friendly, responsive service right in your neighborhood.

Read More ​​​
Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample