Home Instead Senior Care Reviews in Skokie

  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Reviews
home instead senior care reviews in skokie


We Would Love to Hear About Your Experience with Home Instead!

GoogleReviewsm.png

 

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"Home Instead is the best care giving agency in Chicago. Having a family member suffering from Dementia, Parkinson's and Narcolepsy we started home care services about 5 years ago. After navigating different providers and their caregivers, we quickly found that the time required to train new caregivers often had to be repeated again and again as finding a long-term consistent caregiver proved to be difficult. We also found it was difficult to find a male caregivers. That was until we found Home Instead. Home Instead has been providing exceptional care giving services for my father-in-law for over 3 years. From bathing, exercising, meal preparation, helping with groceries, attending doctors appointments, providing fellowship and many other daily activities, the people at Home Instead have always listened to our care process and integrated it with their caregivers. We have had a total of two male caregivers over this period and our family has developed great relationships with both of them. Having a disabled sister from birth, our family has used care giving services for the disabled for over 47 years. As a result, we have very high expectations regarding quality of care for those we love with no exceptions. The relationships we have developed with the Home Instead staff (Dotti, Roy, Bruce, and others) is what has made our experience what it is today. These people CARE about my father-in-law and our family and that is what matters to us. I am writing this review because I know how difficult it is to find quality care at affordable prices and I want people to know that Home Instead is great. Home Instead also works directly with our insurance provider to make the financial side an easy process as well. "

Posted by cpisano on Oct 17 2018

"This Agency provided competent, caring and kind caregivers for my late wife. They were punctual and ready for all eventualities. They made the patient very comfortable and were of help to me. When necessary, substitute care givers were provided. The periodic visits of the Nurses were also helpful."

Posted by VitGer on Oct 06 2018

"Home Instead has offered every service we needed, and more. The caregivers arrive on time and they're always kind and cheerful. My mom was fragile when she arrived home from the hospital and our family was frightened she would not be strong enough to be at home. The caregiver from Home Instead saved my mom's life, I'm sure of it. My mom said again and again how gentle and reassuring she was with her. That positive attitude contributed immeasurably to my mom's recovery. The caregiver had to coordinate many interim medications from the hospital, and visiting services from the hospital. She had to be supportive to my dad, who was very worn down from my mom's illness and hospitalization. Our caregiver from Home Instead has great intelligence, and makes the best choice possible when there is more than one way to solve a problem. She is excellent with medication reminders and always there to offer cheerful kind support. My parents feel safe with her and communicate excellently well with her. When she has had to be away, Home Instead has always worked hard to find someone who will be able to take good care of my mom and be considerate and respectful to both my parents. My mom needs physical help to walk and very close complete care in order to shower. Our caregiver has always made my mom feel comfortable and safe. Life at home truly is possible for both my parents, thanks to Home Instead."

Posted by KGV on Jul 31 2018

"This is an excellent agency with high quality caregivers. The case managers take the time to determine what you need and then help you find the right caregiver for your situation. The caregivers are helpful and kind. They arrive on time and are well-trained. This agency is very professional and has really helped make my life easier!"

Posted by LN_Evanston on Apr 30 2018

"I used Home Instead for 18 months for the care of my 95 year old father. He needed caregivers 24/7. Although some caregivers were not able to meet my high standards, there were many who did. Two caregivers, in particular, became like family to my dad and myself. Home Instead was very responsive to any concerns I had, including always having someone available to answer the phone 24/7, and having a nurse who could make a quick visit if needed. Everyone was responsive and pleasant. Even the billing department! I would highly recommend Home Instead to anyone looking for caregivers for their loved ones."

Posted by SBT on Feb 02 2018

"I have used Home Instead several times - always when in urgent need. They have listened to my need and description of the kind of person I think would work best with my mother and have done a nice job of matching. All of the caregivers they have sent us have been kind, experienced and dependable. The organization is very professional, caring and helpful. "

Posted by LKR on Jan 21 2018

"I hired a caregiver for my mother-in-law so she could be comfortable at a series of family events that occurred over a weekend. The caregiver was fantastic and the coordination from the Home Instead staff was top notch. Everyone was helpful, supportive and caring. Lauren P made sure every detail was thought of and covered! "

Posted by GFP on Jan 03 2018

"I am very pleased with my caregiver. She is thoughtful, reliable, and takes good care of me."

Posted by Trudy on Dec 14 2017

"Home Instead is beyond excellent. They are so very accomodating and the caregivers are very good at what they do and very reliable. We have loved everyone they have sent to us. I would recommend them to anyone. "

Posted by elisekline on Dec 13 2017

"Home Instead is known for setting the gold standard in senior care-giving. This reputation was a significant factor in our family's decision several years ago to entrust Home Instead with the responsibility of providing personal care for my parents after my mother suffered a stroke. So when my aunt suffered a brain hemorrhage a year-and-a-half ago, leaving my uncle by himself in their Evanston apartment, we knew who to contact. It was a different city in a different state, but we knew what we would be getting with the high standards of Home Instead. I have been truly impressed with the quality of care that my uncle has received from Home Instead Senior Care based out of Skokie, IL. Chelly, the Client Care Manager, has been my primary interface in coordinating care for my uncle. She has done an outstanding job in all aspects of the process. She has found top-notch caregivers who have not only made my uncle feel comfortable and well cared for, but who have been able to establish an excellent rapport and friendship with him. I have seen a very positive change in my uncle being more conversant and engaged. As I live at quite a distance away in New Jersey, Chelly does an excellent job at keeping me apprised of how things are going and about any concerns or suggestions that the caregivers may have expressed. Home Instead has also been very accommodating at flexing their schedules when my uncle has a doctor's appointment. I used to try to coordinate this myself as I had done with my parents with a different Home Instead facility, but Chelly and the caregivers have been great at making all of the arrangements and informing me of any associated schedule changes. In the rare event of sickness or an emergency preventing a caregiver from being available for a shift, Chelly has always been on top of it and tries to schedule one of the regular caregivers that my uncle knows. I must say that Home Instead in Skokie has made my life easy in this regard and I have great peace of mind knowing that my uncle is getting superb care from loving and conscientious caregivers."

Posted by Scott MacLean on Dec 03 2017


“…You and your team have been nothing short of excellent in all aspects of our relationship…As we spoke with the various services, it became apparent that Home Instead was listening better than the rest. What I personally found satisfying was the dignity with which the staff treated my parents...consistent contact made it painless to manage the quality of care my parents were receiving…Home Instead’s desire to form a strong relationship with the concerned family is a key differentiating value to their service…Home Instead has responded to every one of our requests professionally and urgently. They understand senior care and how to support the interests of those in need of care as well as the interests of the concerned family. The quality of their caregivers, their relationship based approach to family, and their willingness to respond quickly to changing needs separates their approach to senior care from all the others we considered.”

Mike A., Niles, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“…I wish to commend to you Jeannie’s caregiving for me. She was careful, willing, easy to instruct, and always pleasant. She was ready to do whatever I requested but was never intrusive…”

Sallie V., Northfield, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            

“My sisters and I wanted to express our profound appreciation for how well you took care of our mother in the last month of her life. Having been self-sufficient and independent all her life, we were concerned about how she would adapt to having caregivers around. Your staff was so professional and caring that the transition was as smooth as possible, and we all – including our mom – were very pleased and comforted.”
Gail N. and Family, Lincolnwood, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“We would like to take a moment to tell you how much we appreciated the high level of care we received from the Home Instead caregivers. All of them were compassionate, gentle, skilled, trustworthy, and professional. Mariana, our weekday caregiver, was truly a gem. She was everything one could ask for in a caregiver: patient, perceptive, sensitive. She anticipated Betty’s needs…We all love her…the Home Instead caregivers were a pleasure to have in our home.”
Tom and Nancy A., Wilmette, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Shelly is very proactive and protective of my wife. My wife loves having Shelly in the house. She cooks and does housekeeping. I feel very safe and relieved that Shelly is there. Ritika did such a good job of matchmaking it is unbelievable. I would recommend Home Instead to anyone that needs a caretaker or companion. If you need help and are in the Skokie, Morton Grove, Park Ridge or North Chicago area, give Ritika a call.”
Jerry B., Skokie, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Gina, Thank you for the holiday card — you look just as I imagined — and that NEVER happens! I want to take this opportunity to thank you for being so caring and supportive of me and my family. You are always so solutions-oriented; take the time to really listen to the “why” behind a request, put up with all the complicated nuances of a family doing its best to help our Dad. You obviously care a great deal and it shows. I hope I have a chance to meet you and thank you in person one day.” 
Rachel R., Evanston, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


"Agnes seems absolutely wonderful. Her caring demeanor is perfect for Mom, and she can give Dad a run for his money with his sometimes off-color humor. Mom seemed so happy to have Agnes around telling her how much she loves her, and a weight seemed to be lifted from Dad. I'm so glad everything is working out. We have only had great feedback from Ziggy, Sally and Agnes on how things stand. How wonderful and amazing is it that this is even happening! One of our blessings to be thankful for this year is how you stepped in and found Agnes for Ziggy and Sally and gave them a new life! Priceless..." 
Lori & Mike W., Cindy & Jim H., Glenview, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“…Greta is a most wonderful caregiver. She was attentive, kind & considerate, always helpful, always on time, and her appearance was outstanding. I highly recommend her and would gladly give her a recommendation if desired. Many thanks to Greta, who I consider a friend, and to you for sending her to me.” 
Virginia M., Des Plaines, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“I want to take a moment to thank you for your services. I don’t think there could’ve been a better match for Mom. Susan took really good care of Mom, remembered all the little preferences that Mom had, joked with her and kept her in good spirits, even when Mom was in the hospital. Susan took better care of her then the nursing staff! …Susan was a very special caregiver in every sense of the word.” 
Sandi R., Des Plaines, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“I wanted to let you know what wonderful & caring employees you have in Antanita & Carolyn. Aunt Ginny loved having their care and companionship which make her final years so much more enjoyable. Ginny always prided herself on being independent, but with age & deteriorating sight, she relied more & more on those two great associates of yours. I & my family would like to thank you for the years of wonderful care & concern you showed my Aunt.” 
James H., Park Ridge, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“My family and I are so grateful for the lovely service your business supplied for my mother this past weekend. I don’t know what I would have done without you! Knowing you were there for me gave me such piece of mind. I’m forever in your debt and I’ll refer everyone to you! 
Nancy K., Winnetka, IL
                                                                                                                                                                            


“Zahava, thanks for all you have done over the past six months. I feel that you and your agency have gone above and beyond the call of duty in assisting my mother with all schedules and changes that have occurred. The ladies that assisted my mother have given me peace of mind while living so far from Chicago. You have in a way, personally taken care of the physical and emotional well-being of my mother when I was unable to. Words can never thank you enough.” 
Jay F., Evanston, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“I cannot tell you how nice it felt to have one person to call to handle any of our needs. Each one of them has done a great job in providing companionship for my mother. I have called many times and always felt that the people at the Home Instead office knew my mother and had her well being in mind. I would recommend this service to anyone who wants to help their aging parent remain in the home. Special thanks to Gina who lent an ear so many times and also to Vilma who was the very best caregiver for my mother. Vilma really cares about the people she is helping and takes charge of the situation and gets the job done.” 
Tina R., Skokie, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


"I am writing to express my appreciation and to commend Zahava on helping us with the care of my sister Sheila R. From the very first contact Zahava has gone above and beyond to assist us in finding someone to help Sheila. Even when I called at almost the last minute or changed the time schedules, Zahava never complained, and was always courteous, professional, and effective. She always returns my calls and has always accommodated our requests even though I know at times it was not easy. Zahava, and everyone at Home Instead, has made a most difficult situation a little better." 
Esther M., Morton Grove, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“We are grateful beyond words for the care you arranged for my mother. Maria has been more than any of us could have hoped for, and she has been vital in keeping my mother from going totally downhill. I am also grateful for your professionalism, which kept much stress off of me. I will welcome the opportunity to recommend Home Instead to anyone I know who could benefit from your services.”
Mary L., Northfield, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Thank you for providing such good people to take care of my aunt. It gives me great peace of mind. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for being there for me. I would recommend your agency to anyone at anytime. I felt that Lydia was safe once she was in your immediate care.” 
Kathie M., Morton Grove, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Thank you for sending us such nice ladies like Patty & Loretta. They were so caring and wonderful. And we are so glad we had Amanda. She talked with my aunt all the time and saw to it to make her feel comfortable. She was truly an angel in disguise.” 
Irene P., Glenview, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            ​​


“I can really appreciate the commitment and dedication that it takes to do as well as you are doing. I wish you continued success and want to thank you both for the valuable service that you provide to the community as well as the compassion afforded to our family and most of all, my Dad." 
Bob W., Northbrook, IL


Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample