Home Care Reviews

  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Home Care Reviews

​​Home Instead Senior Care Reviews


Read what other families in the North Side of Chicago and Near North Suburbs​ have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"They work really hard to make sure everything is perfect."

Posted by Kristen Goldammer on Sep 21 2017

"I cannot say enough good words about Home Instead and how much they helped my mom and my family through a very difficult winter and spring, when our 87 year old mother was constantly falling and had other health issues. After several rounds between hospital and rehab, my mother's doctors thought it best we have her return to her home, with 24-7 care. We are a family of 11 siblings, spread out across the globe, with my mom living independently in Evanston. We had no experience hiring round-the-clock care, and had to make a decision, with about 2 days notice, on which agency to use. I was in from Boston, completely unfamiliar with the caregiving market in Chicago, charged with the hiring. I'm not sure how I came upon Home Instead; I only thank the heavens they were put in front of me. From the coordinating staff through the many caregivers sent to care for my mother between March and July, we had a caring village that supported my mom and her children every step of the way towards her recovery. In the beginning, our mom was not an easy person to work with; she was sick, scared, cranky and not at all her usual happy-go-lucky self. Yet, not once did any single caregiver waiver in their responsibilties to ensure Mom was safe and well-taken care of. Not once, in any stressful instance, did any caregiver act unprofessionally. Through the spring, our mother got stronger and stronger, and regained her usual happy disposition. We were able to reduce the caregiving needs down to 4 hours a day, 3 days a week. She developed a very close friendship with the caregiver who came those three days. In fact, the two of them spent the past month packing up our mother's condo contents, the caregiver listening to all the stories and memories behind our mother's treasuries and photos. This wonderful and kind caregiver not only helped our mother with her daily needs, she gave space and open heart to my mother as she said goodbye to the city that had been her home these past 35 years. We are happy to report, as of last weekend, my mother has moved to Wisconsin, to a beautiful Independent Living community and apartment. From 24/7 care four months ago, she is now living independently. In March we would have said my mom had less than 3 years left in her. Today, she looks and feels 20 years younger and we fully expect to be celebrating her 100th birthday. Without Home Instead, I know without any doubt whatsoever, we would not be thinking such happy thoughts. I called Home Instead on the last day of their service to us, thanking them for everything. It was actually an emotional goodbye, leaving this part of my mother's 'village' behind. "

Posted by KBW59 on Jul 30 2017

"Chelli was wonderful in helping with care I needed for my father in my home. She is compassionate and understanding and that helped me at a time when things were difficult for me. She understood what I wanted/needed and followed through with a caregiver that I just cannot say enough about, Tracey. From the moment I met her I felt like I could breathe again. I would recommend Home Instead to anyone with confidence. "

Posted by two thumbs up from Winnetka on Feb 20 2017

"Everyone we encountered was so thorough! They tried to get to know as much as possible about my Dad and his situation. They were very amenable to sending different caregivers until we got the right fit. They were proactive about holiday coverage. They alerted me to situations that involved my Dad out of their own concern. The list goes on! And most recently: when we had an emergency need for overnight caregiving they found someone on the spot! And they continued to staff overnights until our emergency need was over some two weeks later. Karen was outstanding! She coordinated everything so professionally and communicated everything very well. In turn, the caregiver Novlette was amazing!!! She was SO patient with my father. She wrote very detailed reports on how things went. Honestly, Home Instead made some potentially difficult situations a breeze! I cannot say enough stellar things about them. "

Posted by SBlaze on Feb 06 2017

"Home Instead was receptive to my Father's needs and my own. The first contact I had with them by phone was very positive and helpful. They are patient with the family members, explaining everything that they do, and a staff member always brings a new caregiver to the home to introduce. My Dad had the same caregiver for the 8 months we used Home Instead and it made him feel very comfortable about having someone in his home. Home Instead was able to accommodate last minute changes to our schedule to make sure Dad was cared for. I can't thank Home Instead enough for making Dad's (and my) last months comfortable. "

Posted by Linda Gelb on Feb 02 2017

"Home Instead does a great job for my mother. We have live in care from them. "

Posted by Dave268 on Jan 18 2017

"Can't say enough about Home Instead!!! My family and Mother always felt so safe when one of their staff was in our home. The way they introduce new staff members to your home and loved one is truly unique and really should be the standard of how it's done in the industry. They always went out of their way to try to find the same caregiver again and again for our Mom. This made her feel very comfortable about having in-home care. She (Flora) built a great relation ship with my mom and even loved our pets, although she was allergic. We can't thank her and the other great caregivers enough for their great care and loving kindness. Highly recommended. The ILES Family in Skokie "

Posted by ilesofsmiles on Nov 10 2016

"Administration is excellent. Individual caregivers range from good to excellent. Some take more initiative than others. Important to be sensitive to privacy and dignity of the client. "

Posted by Eliza E on Aug 30 2016

"Home Instead LaGrange and Skokie, IL For nearly four years the care giving services provided by these two branches of Home Instead provided absolutely outstanding service for our mentally ill nephew who recently passed away. Both Mike of LaGrange and Gloria of Skokie were most loving and caring during each of their two to three per week visits and outings with Stephen. Mike was like a good big brother to him and Gloria like a loving mother. The administrative aspect of our experience was also consistently excellent with quick response times and crisp on target communication. We recommend Home Instead without reservation and wish you the very best as you seek help for your loved one. "

Posted by John & Gloria Kromer on Mar 24 2016

"Home Instead consistently provides high quality, caring, supportive, well-trained caregivers for in-home care and companionship. I have used their (non-nursing) services for my Mom for more than three years and been fortunate to have worked with a great team of caregivers during this time through various stages of my Mom's healthcare issues. The office staff, supervisors, client services director and everyone supporting the caregivers has been great to work with, caring, helpful, responsive weekdays and weekends, great communication, follow-up and follow-through - frankly, all the things we need to ensure support and companionship for my Mom. I highly recommend this organization. "

Posted by Excellent Care on Mar 01 2016


“…You and your team have been nothing short of excellent in all aspects of our relationship…As we spoke with the various services, it became apparent that Home Instead was listening better than the rest. What I personally found satisfying was the dignity with which the staff treated my parents...consistent contact made it painless to manage the quality of care my parents were receiving…Home Instead’s desire to form a strong relationship with the concerned family is a key differentiating value to their service…Home Instead has responded to every one of our requests professionally and urgently. They understand senior care and how to support the interests of those in need of care as well as the interests of the concerned family. The quality of their caregivers, their relationship based approach to family, and their willingness to respond quickly to changing needs separates their approach to senior care from all the others we considered.”

Mike A., Niles, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“…I wish to commend to you Jeannie’s caregiving for me. She was careful, willing, easy to instruct, and always pleasant. She was ready to do whatever I requested but was never intrusive…”

Sallie V., Northfield, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            

“My sisters and I wanted to express our profound appreciation for how well you took care of our mother in the last month of her life. Having been self-sufficient and independent all her life, we were concerned about how she would adapt to having caregivers around. Your staff was so professional and caring that the transition was as smooth as possible, and we all – including our mom – were very pleased and comforted.”
Gail N. and Family, Lincolnwood, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“We would like to take a moment to tell you how much we appreciated the high level of care we received from the Home Instead caregivers. All of them were compassionate, gentle, skilled, trustworthy, and professional. Mariana, our weekday caregiver, was truly a gem. She was everything one could ask for in a caregiver: patient, perceptive, sensitive. She anticipated Betty’s needs…We all love her…the Home Instead caregivers were a pleasure to have in our home.”
Tom and Nancy A., Wilmette, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Shelly is very proactive and protective of my wife. My wife loves having Shelly in the house. She cooks and does housekeeping. I feel very safe and relieved that Shelly is there. Ritika did such a good job of matchmaking it is unbelievable. I would recommend Home Instead to anyone that needs a caretaker or companion. If you need help and are in the Skokie, Morton Grove, Park Ridge or North Chicago area, give Ritika a call.”
Jerry B., Skokie, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Gina, Thank you for the holiday card — you look just as I imagined — and that NEVER happens! I want to take this opportunity to thank you for being so caring and supportive of me and my family. You are always so solutions-oriented; take the time to really listen to the “why” behind a request, put up with all the complicated nuances of a family doing its best to help our Dad. You obviously care a great deal and it shows. I hope I have a chance to meet you and thank you in person one day.” 
Rachel R., Evanston, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


"Agnes seems absolutely wonderful. Her caring demeanor is perfect for Mom, and she can give Dad a run for his money with his sometimes off-color humor. Mom seemed so happy to have Agnes around telling her how much she loves her, and a weight seemed to be lifted from Dad. I'm so glad everything is working out. We have only had great feedback from Ziggy, Sally and Agnes on how things stand. How wonderful and amazing is it that this is even happening! One of our blessings to be thankful for this year is how you stepped in and found Agnes for Ziggy and Sally and gave them a new life! Priceless..." 
Lori & Mike W., Cindy & Jim H., Glenview, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“…Greta is a most wonderful caregiver. She was attentive, kind & considerate, always helpful, always on time, and her appearance was outstanding. I highly recommend her and would gladly give her a recommendation if desired. Many thanks to Greta, who I consider a friend, and to you for sending her to me.” 
Virginia M., Des Plaines, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“I want to take a moment to thank you for your services. I don’t think there could’ve been a better match for Mom. Susan took really good care of Mom, remembered all the little preferences that Mom had, joked with her and kept her in good spirits, even when Mom was in the hospital. Susan took better care of her then the nursing staff! …Susan was a very special caregiver in every sense of the word.” 
Sandi R., Des Plaines, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“I wanted to let you know what wonderful & caring employees you have in Antanita & Carolyn. Aunt Ginny loved having their care and companionship which make her final years so much more enjoyable. Ginny always prided herself on being independent, but with age & deteriorating sight, she relied more & more on those two great associates of yours. I & my family would like to thank you for the years of wonderful care & concern you showed my Aunt.” 
James H., Park Ridge, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“My family and I are so grateful for the lovely service your business supplied for my mother this past weekend. I don’t know what I would have done without you! Knowing you were there for me gave me such piece of mind. I’m forever in your debt and I’ll refer everyone to you! 
Nancy K., Winnetka, IL
                                                                                                                                                                            


“Zahava, thanks for all you have done over the past six months. I feel that you and your agency have gone above and beyond the call of duty in assisting my mother with all schedules and changes that have occurred. The ladies that assisted my mother have given me peace of mind while living so far from Chicago. You have in a way, personally taken care of the physical and emotional well-being of my mother when I was unable to. Words can never thank you enough.” 
Jay F., Evanston, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“I cannot tell you how nice it felt to have one person to call to handle any of our needs. Each one of them has done a great job in providing companionship for my mother. I have called many times and always felt that the people at the Home Instead office knew my mother and had her well being in mind. I would recommend this service to anyone who wants to help their aging parent remain in the home. Special thanks to Gina who lent an ear so many times and also to Vilma who was the very best caregiver for my mother. Vilma really cares about the people she is helping and takes charge of the situation and gets the job done.” 
Tina R., Skokie, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


"I am writing to express my appreciation and to commend Zahava on helping us with the care of my sister Sheila R. From the very first contact Zahava has gone above and beyond to assist us in finding someone to help Sheila. Even when I called at almost the last minute or changed the time schedules, Zahava never complained, and was always courteous, professional, and effective. She always returns my calls and has always accommodated our requests even though I know at times it was not easy. Zahava, and everyone at Home Instead, has made a most difficult situation a little better." 
Esther M., Morton Grove, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“We are grateful beyond words for the care you arranged for my mother. Maria has been more than any of us could have hoped for, and she has been vital in keeping my mother from going totally downhill. I am also grateful for your professionalism, which kept much stress off of me. I will welcome the opportunity to recommend Home Instead to anyone I know who could benefit from your services.”
Mary L., Northfield, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Thank you for providing such good people to take care of my aunt. It gives me great peace of mind. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for being there for me. I would recommend your agency to anyone at anytime. I felt that Lydia was safe once she was in your immediate care.” 
Kathie M., Morton Grove, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            


“Thank you for sending us such nice ladies like Patty & Loretta. They were so caring and wonderful. And we are so glad we had Amanda. She talked with my aunt all the time and saw to it to make her feel comfortable. She was truly an angel in disguise.” 
Irene P., Glenview, IL

                                                                                                                                                                            ​​


“I can really appreciate the commitment and dedication that it takes to do as well as you are doing. I wish you continued success and want to thank you both for the valuable service that you provide to the community as well as the compassion afforded to our family and most of all, my Dad." 
Bob W., Northbrook, IL


Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Sign up for advice

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones.

Please select at least one newsletter.
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample