Type size

Our office

serves Bethesda, Chevy Chase, Darnestown, Derwood, Friendship Village, Gaithersburg, Garrett Park, Kensington, Leisure World, North Bethesda, North Potomac, Olney, Potomac, Rockville, Silver Spring, Washington DC
Select a different office

Contact Us

Interest choice is required
First Name Required
Last Name Required
Phone Required
Email Required
* indicates a required field. We respect your right to privacy - view our policy.

Reviews

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Silver Spring, MD have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"We decided to use Home Instead from a recommendation of a friend and are extremely glad to have done so. Home Instead is the most professional, and caring, organization we have worked with. They went well beyond what we expected. We highly recommend them and would give them 5,000 stars if we could."

Posted by Rich D. on Sep 18 2020

"Home Instead was very responsive to any requests I had; they assisted me with issues I had with various parties and companies in support of my wife's health. They went "out of their way" on many instances. Their staff, from top to bottom, is highly professional and "second to none." I give them the highest rating possible. I highly recommend Home Instead in every aspect of your experience."

Posted by Richard H. on Sep 16 2020

"Reliable and concientious caregiver for my husband. I've used another service and there is no comparison. If I ever need homecare, I hope to be as fortunate to have a caregiver as competent, compassionate, and caring as my husband's. Administration off is very easy to work with and billing is reliable and clear. If you are in the market, contact Home Instead for an interview. You will not regret it."

Posted by Rosemary L. on Aug 28 2020

"First the office staff is always there to answer any questions or give suggestions. Any concerns are dealt with as soon as possible. The feedback we hear from our parents on the service they receive from their PC’s has been positive. They are always pleasant, helpful, and assisting."

Posted by Anonymous Reviewer on Aug 25 2020

"Home Instead has provided me and my wife with excellent respite care as her rare dementia has slowly progressed. Home Instead conducted a sensitive and useful initial interview/introduction to the service and the assigned caregiver. The caregiver has worked out extremely well, becoming a friend to my wife and helping me get the breaks I need that are essential to my mental health."

Posted by Robert S. on Aug 12 2020

"Grateful for Home Instead's professionalism, responsive care, support, and kindness. Flexible scheduling, prompt returns of phone calls, and willingness to answer questions and listen all have helped ensure my mom's care and ease my mind in the midst of changing circumstances."

Posted by Elizabeth M. on Jul 30 2020

"I appreciate the compassion give to my mother by her caregiver. Her experience in senior care is very evident and especially needed to help my mother navigate the Covid-19 rules. I also appreciate the staff's support whenever I call. THANK YOU!!"

"The Staff is very, very helpful assessing the patient and offering advice. The staff in the field are super, arriving on time, exhibiting concern and care for the patient and willingness to talk with family. The agency alerts me to any changes with caregivers timing and problems so that we can address them together. We are very pleased with the services of Home Instea."

Posted by MBFF on Jul 27 2020

"Home Instead has provided excellent support to the family while providing super staff for the patient. We believe that the informative relationship between the management of Home Instead and the family has ensured a more successful care program for the patient. We are very pleased with the service provided by Home Instead."

Posted by Susan F. - NW DC on Jul 27 2020

"Home Instead always work hard to find the best possible caregiver for my independent Living Residents. The management team is very responsive to any questions or issues that arise. In my experience, the caregivers are excellent."


 

Dear Patty,

I wanted to take some time to write to express from my vantage point, as a loving nephew of a wonderful woman, just why I think Home Instead's professional, expert assistance saved her life.

My aunt was suffering from acute pain caused by a fracture in her back.  As a result, she was not eating or drinking, yet she was affirming that she was "full" each time that I or a caregiver tried to get her to eat.

Her health declined to the point of having to have her hospitalized.  The experience for my aunt, who suffers from mid-stage Alzheimer's, was bewildering and frightening.  They were able to diagnose a previously unrecognized infection and treat it.
 But after running many tests, they realized that there was little they could do about her back pain.

The hospital was insisting that my aunt be transferred to a nursing home upon release.  We knew that if she went to a nursing home, she would give up.  She would be confused by unfamiliar surroundings, noises, and people who would require her to wake, eat, bathe, and sleep on their schedule.  Such confusion would, in our opinion, make her mental condition much worse.  With an active "DNR," the nursing home staff wouldn't perform heroic life-saving measures if she gave up and died.

However, with Kelli and Diana's assistance, 24-hour, 7-day-a-week caregiving was quickly organized.  I was able to prove to the hospital that my aunt would be safe and well cared-for at home.

Now that the hospitalization incident is two months behind us, let me share with you the warm, rich story of a significantly improved quality of life for my beloved aunt.

Each of the Home Instead professionals have worked very well with my aunt (and me) to help her to have adequate nutrition, to take her meds on schedule, to drink fluids, to bathe, and to use the toilet WHEN it fits my aunt's needs and her schedule.  Day or night, at any time -- if my aunt needs help to use the toilet, or she's hungry, or she just wants to talk to someone, we can be assured that she will get the help she needs when she wants it -- on her schedule, not someone else's.  And, in particular, she is in her own home in familiar surroundings.

While the nastiness of Alzheimer's will be a burden for all of us to deal with as we enable my aunt to live out her life, the family is most certainly assured that my aunt's quality of life is significantly better.  Here are some examples:

1.  She always smiles, and is happy.  Happy to greet each day, greet each caregiver, greet visitors.  Her happiness is such a delight for all of us.

2.  She eats small meals throughout the day (and night).  Her nutrition has improved so much that her doctor took her off some meds because she didn't need them any more -- her improved diet made the requirement for two meds no longer necessary.  Not taking those meds had an added benefit in that my aunt no longer complains about feeling weak or "wobbly."

3.  My aunt now can pull herself up out of bed or a chair and walk with her walker.  She is carefully guided, but her ability to resume some sort of normal activity on her own volition is a sure sign of the care that Home Instead professionals have rendered. 
She wouldn't have been able to do that without their help and patient guidance.

4.  I've taken my aunt for "a walk" several times, by taking her outside and cruising around her neighborhood while she is in her wheelchair.  It has been great for her psyche and for me, as well (certainly I appreciate the exercise.)

5.  Most importantly, my aunt has retained her dignity and sense of self-worth.  Her caregivers make her feel that she is important and she has something to say in directing daily decision-making for her wants or needs.  I cannot explain how that makes my aunt feel as a woman who is accustomed to being an independent-minded decision-maker.

Thank you -- thank you all -- for all you have done and continue to do such that my aunt's life has returned to a quality that we were worried was gone.

Please share this as you wish, and in particular, share this with the wonderful caregivers who are working with my lovely, wonderful, warm-hearted, and HAPPY Aunt Lee.

Warm regards,

—Rocky L.  Leisure World


I want to tell you how much I appreciate your very professional staff and program. I especially want to acknowledge the fine efforts of Ella C. She was an excellent CAREGiver for many reasons. She is so easy to be with and her nice sense of humor helped ease the tension. She was kind, patient, and gentle but knew when to take a more assertive approach. She was so dependable, showing up on time every time and always with a smile. I feel she genuinely cared about us and I felt completely comfortable leaving Bob in her care. I knew he was in good hands and I could go out to my outings with confidence and an easy heart.

—Elaine R.


Your caregivers have all been competent and reliable. Her latest CAREGiver, Martha C., gave outstanding care and a friendship that we all valued. Martha did thoughtful things for my mother, beyond what was expected of her. She was always cheerful, yet empathetic to my mother’s feelings. I have recommended your service to a couple of people at my church.

—Joanne R.


Home Instead worked with me to further define the right compatibility to match a CAREGiver to the needs of my parents and my friend. The result was a CAREGiver that provided professional support to my loved ones during the final stages of their lives. She often went beyond in her service. I have been very satisfied with the services of Home Instead.

—Albert A.


You provide an excellent service that I believe can be invaluable in many cases, and your organization has operated in as pleasant and efficient manner possible in all my dealings with you.

—Betty D.


After a thorough interview, your company chose Thelma to be placed with Virginia. We couldn’t have been more pleased with the choice. Thelma turned out to be the perfect companion for Virginia. All her life Virginia preferred to be alone and disliked being in the company of strangers. She had gotten so that she was reluctant to leave her room. Thelma, through sheer determination, was able to get her to attend activities, go to the dining room, beauty parlor, and even accompany her to doctors’ appointments. Thelma did far more than she was asked to do. She even went to see her the many times she had to be in the hospital.

—Jean P.


 

Learn More

Rates & Hours

We can tailor a home care arrangement to fit both your family's lifestyle and budget.

Read More
Careers

Reap rewards beyond measure -- and get paid, too.

Read More
Our Story

As a locally owned business, we offer friendly, responsive service right in your neighborhood.

Read More ​​​

Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones. (Privacy Policy)

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones. (Privacy Policy)

Please select at least one newsletter.

Valid first name is required
Valid last name is required
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample