Type size

Our office

serves Bethesda, Chevy Chase, Friendship Village, Gaithersburg, Garrett Park, Darnestown, Derwood, Kensington, Leisure World, North Bethesda, North Potomac, Olney, Potomac, Rockville, Silver Spring, Washington DC
Select a different office

Contact Us

Interest choice is required
First Name Required
Last Name Required
Phone Required
Email Required
* indicates a required field. We respect your right to privacy - view our policy.

Reviews

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Home Instead Senior Care ReviewsRead what other families in Silver Spring, MD have to say about Home Instead Senior Care®:​​

Latest Reviews & Testimonials 

"Our family worked with Home Instead for over a year and were blessed to have Marguerite. She was wonderful — as kind and compassionate as she was dependable, proactive, industrious and willing to help in any way to assist my parents, from cleaning to food shopping to preparing meals to personal care. She became like a part of our family. We are so appreciative and thankful to have had Marguerite."

Posted by Carol D. on Feb 14 2020

"Caregiver is super smart. She also does exercises with me."

Posted by Joan on Feb 07 2020

"Home Instead has been a godsend in caring for my sister during a long critical illness. Not only have the caregivers been reliable, timely and kind, but Home Instead's administrative staff have incredibly helpful in customizing scheduling and staffing to meet my sister's needs. I cannot say enough for how positive a difference they have made in managing a very difficult situation."

Posted by Leslie M. on Feb 07 2020

"Home Instead was a great help to me when a member of my family started to need extra help. All of our regular caregivers were professional and really did seem to care about my loved one's well being. A couple of them even went above and beyond their job description more than once. You'll pay a bit more than hiring someone on your own, but the service they provide is well worth it in my opinion. Their customer service has also been great. I can easily recommend Home Instead."

Posted by Omar B. on Feb 05 2020

"Home Instead was great. The caregiver was kind and eager to connect. The administrative staff insightful, clear about how everything worked, and extremely affirming. My household, as it turned out, was not ready for Home Instead, but I expect that time will come and I will be back on their doorstep. They made me feel respected and understood, and in a real way."

Posted by Judy K. on Jan 31 2020

"Kudos to Home Instead Senior Care for taking care of me before, during, and after my recent outpatient surgery. I wasn’t sure of how well I would be able to function around the house after my surgery so I made arrangements with them to be there for me. Over a period of 10 days, three delightful caregivers shared the duties of driving me to and from the hospital, fixing lunch and dinner, grocery shopping and keeping me company. Their presence also brought a lot of comfort to my family and friends whose lives I did not want to disrupt for this development. I could not be more pleased with the experience I had and would highly recommend Home Instead Senior Care to anyone who finds themselves in a similar situation."

Posted by Billy P. on Nov 28 2019

"We first became familiar with Home Instead up in Delaware and were very impressed with the care they provided my mother. It was a no-brainer to call them again when we moved mom to an apartment in Bethesda five mins from our home, and mom needed over-night care. The most reassuring aspect of the care was HI's ability to get us a fixed group of attendants so after a week or two, we knew each one well, and mom was comfortable with them in her apartment when she woke during the night. We used HI for some 12 weeks, and in all the time, only once was an attendant late - and that due to some catastrophic beltway accident that we heard about on the radio, and the attendant texted to give us a heads-up. They were always willing to help around her apartment, and while mom occasionally grumbled, it was always about the fact that she needed the HELP, but she never complained about the HELPER. The HI back office is even more attuned to the needs of both the families and the patients. They remind you in advance of holidays to see if help will be needed. They keep mailings to a minimum and answered the few billing questions we had with professionalism and courtesy. Have no reservations recommending them."

Posted by Paul F. on Nov 26 2019

"I completely endorse Home Instead Senior care for helping us out with my husband. Gina Atkins started as our companion caregiver a year ago. Timely, professional and caring, she soon became a part of our family as well. Her keen eye for details to the medical needs for my husband, gives me the trust that takes a huge anxiety off my mind. The office staff, primarily, Debbie and Diana, are always around to accommodate us with our schedule- be it a holiday or a vacation. And last , but most definitely not the least, Mary Anne Darling- the co-coordinator, who helped us out from helping me to fill out the forms, recommending Gina Atkins and dropping by every now and then at our house, to see if things are going smoothly. If you are in need of senior/personal care for a loved one, Home Instead, like their moniker, will live up to it!"

Posted by Sujata B. on Nov 23 2019

"The Home Instead staff and caregivers have been a pleasure to deal with. The staff has shown great flexibility in expanding the caregiving schedule on short notice for my mother-in-law and are always cheerful and professional. The caregivers have been compassionate, energetic and proactive in handling the needs of a 93 year old under hospice care. I've used Home Instead for my parents in Florida and it's great to see that the overall excellence is present here in Maryland as well."

Posted by George B. on Nov 15 2019

"Ashley has been a wonderful caregiver for my mother for some time now. She has been a huge help to my mother and we are very thankful for her assistance as well as the entire Home Instead team. Thank you. Thank you"

Posted by Mindy O. on Oct 17 2019

 

Dear Patty,

I wanted to take some time to write to express from my vantage point, as a loving nephew of a wonderful woman, just why I think Home Instead's professional, expert assistance saved her life.

My aunt was suffering from acute pain caused by a fracture in her back.  As a result, she was not eating or drinking, yet she was affirming that she was "full" each time that I or a caregiver tried to get her to eat.

Her health declined to the point of having to have her hospitalized.  The experience for my aunt, who suffers from mid-stage Alzheimer's, was bewildering and frightening.  They were able to diagnose a previously unrecognized infection and treat it.
 But after running many tests, they realized that there was little they could do about her back pain.

The hospital was insisting that my aunt be transferred to a nursing home upon release.  We knew that if she went to a nursing home, she would give up.  She would be confused by unfamiliar surroundings, noises, and people who would require her to wake, eat, bathe, and sleep on their schedule.  Such confusion would, in our opinion, make her mental condition much worse.  With an active "DNR," the nursing home staff wouldn't perform heroic life-saving measures if she gave up and died.

However, with Kelli and Diana's assistance, 24-hour, 7-day-a-week caregiving was quickly organized.  I was able to prove to the hospital that my aunt would be safe and well cared-for at home.

Now that the hospitalization incident is two months behind us, let me share with you the warm, rich story of a significantly improved quality of life for my beloved aunt.

Each of the Home Instead professionals have worked very well with my aunt (and me) to help her to have adequate nutrition, to take her meds on schedule, to drink fluids, to bathe, and to use the toilet WHEN it fits my aunt's needs and her schedule.  Day or night, at any time -- if my aunt needs help to use the toilet, or she's hungry, or she just wants to talk to someone, we can be assured that she will get the help she needs when she wants it -- on her schedule, not someone else's.  And, in particular, she is in her own home in familiar surroundings.

While the nastiness of Alzheimer's will be a burden for all of us to deal with as we enable my aunt to live out her life, the family is most certainly assured that my aunt's quality of life is significantly better.  Here are some examples:

1.  She always smiles, and is happy.  Happy to greet each day, greet each caregiver, greet visitors.  Her happiness is such a delight for all of us.

2.  She eats small meals throughout the day (and night).  Her nutrition has improved so much that her doctor took her off some meds because she didn't need them any more -- her improved diet made the requirement for two meds no longer necessary.  Not taking those meds had an added benefit in that my aunt no longer complains about feeling weak or "wobbly."

3.  My aunt now can pull herself up out of bed or a chair and walk with her walker.  She is carefully guided, but her ability to resume some sort of normal activity on her own volition is a sure sign of the care that Home Instead professionals have rendered. 
She wouldn't have been able to do that without their help and patient guidance.

4.  I've taken my aunt for "a walk" several times, by taking her outside and cruising around her neighborhood while she is in her wheelchair.  It has been great for her psyche and for me, as well (certainly I appreciate the exercise.)

5.  Most importantly, my aunt has retained her dignity and sense of self-worth.  Her caregivers make her feel that she is important and she has something to say in directing daily decision-making for her wants or needs.  I cannot explain how that makes my aunt feel as a woman who is accustomed to being an independent-minded decision-maker.

Thank you -- thank you all -- for all you have done and continue to do such that my aunt's life has returned to a quality that we were worried was gone.

Please share this as you wish, and in particular, share this with the wonderful caregivers who are working with my lovely, wonderful, warm-hearted, and HAPPY Aunt Lee.

Warm regards,

—Rocky L.  Leisure World


I want to tell you how much I appreciate your very professional staff and program. I especially want to acknowledge the fine efforts of Ella C. She was an excellent CAREGiver for many reasons. She is so easy to be with and her nice sense of humor helped ease the tension. She was kind, patient, and gentle but knew when to take a more assertive approach. She was so dependable, showing up on time every time and always with a smile. I feel she genuinely cared about us and I felt completely comfortable leaving Bob in her care. I knew he was in good hands and I could go out to my outings with confidence and an easy heart.

—Elaine R.


Your caregivers have all been competent and reliable. Her latest CAREGiver, Martha C., gave outstanding care and a friendship that we all valued. Martha did thoughtful things for my mother, beyond what was expected of her. She was always cheerful, yet empathetic to my mother’s feelings. I have recommended your service to a couple of people at my church.

—Joanne R.


Home Instead worked with me to further define the right compatibility to match a CAREGiver to the needs of my parents and my friend. The result was a CAREGiver that provided professional support to my loved ones during the final stages of their lives. She often went beyond in her service. I have been very satisfied with the services of Home Instead.

—Albert A.


You provide an excellent service that I believe can be invaluable in many cases, and your organization has operated in as pleasant and efficient manner possible in all my dealings with you.

—Betty D.


After a thorough interview, your company chose Thelma to be placed with Virginia. We couldn’t have been more pleased with the choice. Thelma turned out to be the perfect companion for Virginia. All her life Virginia preferred to be alone and disliked being in the company of strangers. She had gotten so that she was reluctant to leave her room. Thelma, through sheer determination, was able to get her to attend activities, go to the dining room, beauty parlor, and even accompany her to doctors’ appointments. Thelma did far more than she was asked to do. She even went to see her the many times she had to be in the hospital.

—Jean P.


 

Learn More

Rates & Hours

We can tailor a home care arrangement to fit both your family's lifestyle and budget.

Read More
Careers

Reap rewards beyond measure -- and get paid, too.

Read More
Our Story

As a locally owned business, we offer friendly, responsive service right in your neighborhood.

Read More ​​​

Looking for advice?

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones. (Privacy Policy)

Home Instead offers free monthly newsletters with tips and advice for caregivers of elderly loved ones. (Privacy Policy)

Please select at least one newsletter.

Valid first name is required
Valid last name is required
Valid email address is required
View sample
View sample
View sample